• Dr.5z5 Open Feed Directory
  • Top Rated

A Look Back at 2016

I’ve been thinking a lot about this past year. It’s hard to know what to say about it, really, as I’m experiencing a lot of mixed emotions. It’s been a year of both ups and downs; many happy personal things have happened, but there’s also been a lot of loss, not just in the celebrity world but for a lot of people close to me as well. It was a strange year, indeed.

On a personal level, there was a lot of loss around me. A good friend lost her husband. My best friend’s father lost his battle to cancer. Another friend’s mother passed away just before Christmas. CBG’s daughter Pebbles lost a friend, too. There was a lot of sadness around for people that I care about.

And of course there was a lot of loss in the celebrity world as well. A lot of beloved celebrities died this year – more than usual, it feels like. And more that seemed to go “before their time”. For me I lost three of my all-time favourites: Prince, Leonard Cohen, and George Michael. Each of those artists touched me in a different way, and I’ll be honest, the world feels just a little bit emptier without them. However. I also feel a deep sense of gratitude for the fact that the world even had these people to begin with; people who I never had the privilege of meeting, but still managed to touch me in a memorable way.

There’s been a lot of good things that have happened in our family this year. CBG landed his dream job. I landed a job that I am much happier in. Because of these two things, we’re starting to get back on track financially. This summer I got to see my best friend again for the first time in almost 12 years. Most importantly, with some hard work and a lot of love, CBG and I have been able to reconnect and reach a good place again.

Equally important, I feel like groundwork is being laid for continued good things in the future. The past couple of years have been a bit of struggle for my family, and it is good to feel like we’re moving in a forward direction again. It makes me excited to see what’s in store for us.

2016 has been a time of learning for me. Yes, there has been loss, but that loss has reminded me that there are no guarantees in this life. And because of that, we need to get out there and live. We need to take risks. Push ourselves out of our comfort zones. Spend time with loved ones. Tell people how much they mean to us. We need to make good things happen – to get out there and grab life and squeeze every bit of goodness out of it that we can.

And that’s exactly what 2017 is going to be all about for me.

Leave a Reply

