Besties Back Together

A couple of months ago I wrote about how I hadn’t been in the same room with my best friend in twelve years. We live several provinces apart and although we’ve tried several times over the past few years to get together, we just haven’t been able to make it happen.

It so happened that she was back home this year visiting family over the summer, and I made up my mind that I wasn’t going to let another year pass by without hearing that infectious laugh of hers in person. I planned the trip, and CBG and I headed to New Brunswick over the long weekend in August.

To say that I was excited about seeing her again was a mild understatement.

The second we saw one another, we threw our arms around each other, laughing, and crying. And hugging. And crying some more. It felt so good to be standing there beside her, and in the blink of eye, it was like absolutely no time had passed at all. Everything was exactly the same.

And everything felt right with my world.

We spent an amazing weekend together – not just with each other, but with our husbands, and other old friends that I haven’t seen in even longer. We laughed, we reminisced, we remembered why life seemed so much better when we saw each other all the time, instead of just chatting through random daily text messages.

I owe this woman a lot of credit for shaping me into the person that I am today. She’s the person who helped shape my ridiculous sense of humour, who always encouraged my creativity, and who loved  me through a lot of crazy crap. She’s been there through breakups, my divorce, the birth of my children. Aside from CBG, she is the only other person on this planet who knows it all – and who has loved me through some of the ugliest parts of my life. No, we haven’t been in the same room much over these last years, but our friendship has endured, in spite of that. Hell, not just endured – but grown stronger. A true friend…which, as I’ve come to learn in the last decade or so, are a pretty rare thing. Proof that a best friend doesn’t always have to be in the same room as you. But it sure as heck feels wonderful when they are.

And I can promise you one thing – it won’t be another twelve years before I see her face in person again.

One Response

  1. […] in. Because of these two things, we’re starting to get back on track financially. This summer I got to see my best friend again for the first time in almost 12 years. Most importantly, with some hard work and a lot of love, CBG […]

Leave a Reply

