Wishes For My Daughters

It’s natural that we moms wish many things for our children. Lately I find myself thinking a lot about the future, and what might possibly be in store my two daughters. So much is unknown, and those big question marks leave a lot of space for imagining and wishing. Sure, it leaves space for fear and anxiety as well, but I do my best to put away fear of the unknown as much as possible. Worrying about the future is a futile act, since there are so many factors that may affect and change it.

I wish for my daughters to know what it means to love someone with their whole entire heart. To see everything about that person – the good and the bad – and to love them for the good and accept the bad as it comes.

I wish for them that the person they love, loves them back in exactly the same way.

I wish for them to know just enough sadness and heartache to be able to appreciate all the good things when they happen.

I wish for them to love themselves, fully and completely, and to value all the things that make them unique, even those things that they don’t always like all that much.

I wish for them to always laugh as much as they do now, and to keep embracing their silliness.

I wish for them to have enough money to be comfortable, to do the things that they want to do in life, while still being willing to work hard for those things.

I wish that they will need to work hard, ,at least for some things; hard-won victories are always appreciated most.

I wish for them to always know their own worth, and to never tolerate being disrespected by others.

I wish for them to remain young at heart, and always see the beauty even in every day things.

I wish that they will always feel deep appreciation and gratitude for even the smallest things in life.

And more than anything, my biggest wish is that they will always know that I am in their corner, and that my love for them is eternal, and truly unconditional.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

