• Dr.5z5 Open Feed Directory
  • Top Rated

The Subconscious Doesn’t Lie

So if you’ve been following along you’ve noticed that my blogging frequency has increased significantly this past week or so. Working through all kinds of negative emotions will do that. I’m grateful to have this outlet at my disposal, and am reminded of why I used to write so faithfully. I’m not certain that this writing streak with continue, and to be honest, I’m hoping that my reasons for writing will calm down significantly. However…I’m going to enjoy my blogging resurgence while it lasts.

This week I had a somewhat telling dream. I found myself at the grocery store, going about my business and shopping away, except for one small detail — I was naked. For me it seemed like a kind of normal thing to do, but at one point it suddenly occurred to me that perhaps others might be feeling a wee bit uncomfortable with my nudity. I went from feeling comfortable with my nakedness to feeling…exposed.

I quickly looked for something to cover up, but woke up before I could find it.

It doesn’t take a genius to figure out that perhaps I’m feeling more than a wee bit ‘exposed’, with my recent flurry of blog posts. It used to be that I wrote all kinds of personal stuff here, back in the day when my online community was mostly made up of fellow single parents scattered around the world. These days, my online connections are made up largely of local Twitter folk. It’s a lot tougher to write honestly and from the heart when I know that I could very well bump into a blog reader at the grocery store or farmer’s market.

As tough as it is, I’m going to do my best to put that discomfort aside and continue writing. It’s definitely good for me, and who knows, maybe somewhere out there, there will be someone who might relate.

And my advice for anyone who isn’t so comfortable with my emotional nudity? Just look away. Because I’m pretty sure I won’t be covering up any time soon.

2 Responses

  1. I love reading your blog posts. You’re honest and real and I appreciate that. And if I run into you at the grocery store, I’ll give you a hug.

  2. Love you girl. I need to catch up with you soon.

Leave a Reply

