The Magic of Self-Care

Self-care means different things to different people. I’ve realized that even for me, self-care means something different depending on what day it is and how I’m feeling on that particular day. I mean, it only makes sense that our mental, emotional and physical needs are going to change from day to day or week to week. No two days and no two weeks are ever exactly the same.

For the past few weeks I’ve been a lot more physically active than I have been in a long time. I’ve been running and walking a lot as a way to deal with the overwhelming stress that I’ve been feeling. For me, there’s nothing like pounding the pavement for a few hours a day for stress management.

Last week I had what I can only describe as a bit of a “crash” in the energy department. I’m just…worn out. I told CBG that it’s like I’ve been running on adrenaline for the last couple of months, and that I’m finally coming down off it. My body is responding by telling me that it’s tired and in need of rest.

And so…I’ve been resting. I’m still running and walking, yes, but I’ve cut back my mileage significantly in the last week or so. I’m making a point to get to bed early. Instead of shooting out of bed at the crack of dawn I’ve chosen on more than one morning to take some extra sleep and some much-needed snuggle time with my man. Instead of taking a power walk on my lunch break, I went for a leisurely stroll, and even made time to sit in the grass and just be quiet with my thoughts. My body, mind and spirit right now are telling me to just be gentle with myself.

The magic of self-care means that sometimes you go for the long runs. You eat the healthy food. And other times, it means sleeping in and having ice cream for dinner.

Magic.

blog

Leave a Reply

