Beach Therapy

I feel so incredibly lucky to live so close to the ocean. It’s something that I try to never take for granted, but I have to admit, it’s something that I don’t always appreciate as much as I should.

Lately, with all the overwhelming stresses in life, I have found myself seeking out the ocean. There’s something about the salt air that just soothes the soul, I guess.

On the weekend, CBG and I went to a local beach, just for a little walk and to enjoy some quiet time together. It did not disappoint.

ocean1

It didn’t take long for CBG and I to find our smiles.

1st night

We had a lovely walk along the beach that evening. I even got my toes wet, but lacking a swimsuit and towel, decided not to go in all the way. An hour and a half at the ocean we left feeling lighter than air, the stress and worries seemed to have been washed away. I felt my heart soar for the first time in a long time. I was truly in that moment, loving every single bit of it.

meeeeeeeee

CBG’s daughter Rugrat arrived late on Tuesday night, and so last night, we decided we would escape the heat of the city once again and take all three girls to this beach. And quite honestly, I was feeling the need for some more beach therapy. CBG wasn’t in the best mood, either.

Oddly, as we drove closer, we could see the fog rolling in. By the time we arrived, we could barely see the ocean right in front of us. But the cool air felt lovely and we decided not to let a little fog stop us.

the girls

What started out as “let’s just get our feet wet”, turned into full-on silliness and frolicking in the waves….my crabby mood and the weight of life stresses once again melting magically away.

us girls

I didn’t have a bathing suit this time, either, but I stripped off my shorts and headed into the water in just my underpants and tank top. Wheeeeee!

We girls played in the water (while CBG watched and laughed at our antics) until Kiddo and I got too cold to handle it anymore. We got changed into dryer clothes in the car while Lil’ Mo and Rugrat continued to play until it was almost dark.

It was one of those wonderfully spontaneous evenings that just fills the soul. The five us drove home with huge grins on our faces, feeling completely grateful for this fun experience together. One of those small things that mean so very much.

Beach therapy.

3 Responses

  1. I’m telling you. Getting to the ocean has always been like therapy to me. I tell my girls that water washes the grumpies away. Salt water, via the ocean or tears, is even more refreshing.

    Love you.

  2. What an awesome time it looks like you all had! I love the beach & ocean as well. I’m glad you found a way to help get out of your funk! xoxo!

  3. […] A nearby beach where we’d spent a fair bit of time over the summer, indulging in plenty of “beach therapy”.  It was a beautifully sunny (albeit chilly) afternoon, but being there at the beach with the sun, […]

Leave a Reply

