Girls’ Weekends


Because of my shared custody arrangement with the girls’ dad, I spend every other weekend with my girls (in addition to the time we spend together during the week, of course). On those weekends CBG goes to visit his son Ankle Biter. It works out pretty well for us. It gives us each dedicated time to devote to our kids, and allows opportunity for us to have the occasional visit all together as a family. This has been our pattern from the beginning (even when CBG and I were a long distance couple) and it’s always worked well for us.

I love the kid-free weekends that CBG and I have together. It allows us time to get stuff done, hang out with our “couples” friends, and spend some quality time alone. These weekends are part of what make our relationship so good.

On the flip side of that, I also love my girls’ weekends. Now that Kiddo and Lil’Mo are getting a bit older, they’re becoming a lot more fun to just hang out with. Not that they weren’t before, but it seems like more and more we’re able to relate on a more adult level, rather than a mom looking after her two kids. Our girls weekends are spent, for the most part, hanging out together. We watch movies and have treats, play board games, go to the park, sometimes we hit up the movies or the library or go shopping. We love going out on “coffee dates” at one of our many neighbourhood coffee shops. We tell stories. We make plans. We snuggle on the couch. And we laugh. And laugh. And laugh.

Occasionally other plans are made. Sometimes one of them goes off to a sleepover with friends or invites someone over. At this point those kinds of plans are still rather rare for the most part and even when they do happen, we still work in plenty of mother-daughter time around it.

I absolutely cherish our weekends together. This is the part of motherhood that I’m loving most — being able to help teach and guide my girls as they grow into lovely young women. I enjoy the fact that we’re reaching a place where we talk to each other as friends in many cases, not just as mother-daughter.

Now, I’m not under any illusions here. I know that while my girls and I will always be close, we’re not always going to be spending this much quality time together. I know that as they get older, they’re going to start choosing to spend time with their friends, doing their own thing, more and more. And I’m okay with that, as I know that it’s part of life and part of growing up. It’s inevitable.

But in the meantime, I plan to enjoy every living room dance party, every nacho-and-movie-night and every single giggle that my girls and I share. This is a special time in life for all three of us, and I’m determined to make as many memories for all of us while I can.

One Response

  1. I’m the same with Thing2. I enjoy her so much more on an adult level now that she’s 15. I love those moments when we dissolve into laughter in the car when we start singing badly to songs. Or when she’s teasing me when I’m crying at a sad movie or hiding my eyes from Walking Dead.

Leave a Reply

