Farewell to an Old Friend

Last night I found out that a former co-worker of mine passed away. We worked together back in the day when I first moved to the city, before I had children. We didn’t work closely together, we never knew each other all that well, we were part of a larger employee group, and our paths crossed regularly.

It wasn’t until we reconnected via Facebook, years ago, that we communicated more. We exchanged occasional messages, and often engaged in silliness and shared risque humour. He was one of those people that I always enjoyed engaging with on social media; I always wanted to see what he was up to and what kind of ridiculousness he was posting on any given day. He was easygoing, loved a good joke, and was always stepping in with some encouragement or some way to give me a little giggle.

I learned last year that he was ill — cancer. He didn’t really complain about it much, at least not in any of the public or private conversations we had; he seemed to be taking it in stride. He continued on with his silly humour and ‘sometimes over the line’ humour. I never really knew how serious the situation was with him, and wasn’t close enough to feel comfortable asking.

And now he’s gone.

It’s such a shock when people die, even more of a shock when they die too young. It’s such a stark reminder that none of us know how much time we have left, and that we spend way too much time focused on the wrong things. I’m guilty of this, I am well aware — of caring too much about things that need to be let go of, wasting time and energy on things that don’t matter in the long run…the whole shebang. Losing this old friend is a reminder that I need to regain my focus. Life is too short, too uncertain, too fleeting to waste.

Goodbye old buddy. I’ll miss the laughs. Thank you for every single one of them.

6 Responses

  1. I’ve lost a few friends to cancer these past few years. And a co-worker just… dropped dead, for lack of a better word… last fall. She was at her house, celebrating her husband’s birthday with her kids and family. Then she collapsed and was gone. She was my age.

    It hits you hard. Prayers that we both make the best of every moment.

  2. I’m sorry for your loss, my friend. As we all know too well, cancer is a monster. Lets hope we can one day kill it.

  3. Sorry to hear about your loss. Sending good vibes your way.

Leave a Reply

