Life Lessons From My 10 Year Old Daughter

So yesterday we got dumped on with another snowstorm. Although annoying, it’s certainly not the worst thing in the world; it is winter, after all, and not like snowstorms should be unexpected for those of us who live in this part of the world.

CBG and I went out to shovel mid-evening or so. We were tempted (well, he more than me) to leave it all go until morning, but I was convinced that doing one round in the evening, even though it was still storming, was likely wise. As we got dressed up to go out, Lil’ Mo (who will be 10 in a few weeks) piped up, “Can I come help?”

Well, naturally I’m not about to turn down an offer to help with shoveling; after all, many hands make light work. The three of us went out and cleared the stairs, sidewalk and driveway in no time flat.

As we were coming back in, I commented to CBG that I actually kind of enjoy shoveling; the exercise and fresh air are nice.

That’s when Lil’ Mo piped up. “I think that it’s better to be in a good mood about shoveling. I mean, you know you have to do it, so  you might as well be in a good mood about it. Being in a bad mood only makes things like that worse than they need to be.”

I forget sometimes how much of a thinker Mo is.

You’re right,” I agreed. “And this is true with a lot of things in life. Sadly, a lot of people haven’t figured that out.”

Attitude really does go a long way in life. Thanks for the reminder, kid.

 

One Response

  1. Love her. ❤

Leave a Reply

