Why Everyone Needs to Just Be Quiet

I’m not normally the kind of person who follows trends “just because”. That’s not to say that I don’t engage in trendy things, because I certainly do from time to time, but for me, this engagement comes from a place of genuinely enjoying something, not because I’m “following the crowd”.

In fact, sometimes “the crowd” causes me to turn away from popular trends, just because I don’t want to be doing what everyone else is doing.

Very hipster of me, no?

This is especially true of television shows. For some reason, nothing turns me off wanting to watch a television series more than having someone rave about what a GREAT show it is, and how I HAVE to watch it.

Ugh.

That’s not to say that I don’t watch popular TV programs. For example, I loved, loved, loved Dexter. LOVED IT. Though I often avoided conversations with others about it, and frequently comforted myself by remembering that I watched that show from the dexbeginning, before it was uber-popular. I also loved Six Feet Under and Sex and the City (both of these I watched well after the series were finished and most people weren’t talking about them anymore).

Again with the hipster theme. I hear it.

There are plenty of shows over the years I’ve refused to watch, thanks to social media and over-zealous coworkers and family members, insisting that I was missing out on something. Like Breaking Bad. Sons of Anarchy. Walking Dead. Blah blah blah. As soon as I hear people ranting about these shows, I immediately tune them out.

Yeah, I realize that this is rather childish of me. Whatevs. There’s just a part of me (that 12 year old girl part) that resents having anyone tell me what I should and shouldn’t like.

The thing is, I’m pretty sure I’ve been missing out on some gems.

MMOne weekend this summer I had a couple of days to myself. I was flipping through Netflix and came across Mad Men. I knew of a few people with great things to say about the show, which made me hesitant, but boredom won out.

I was five episodes into the first season before I knew it. CBG arrived home near the end of episode five and was immediately drawn in. Next thing I know, we were binge-watching Mad Men every chance we got, and in the matter of a few months, we’ve totally caught up on all the episodes. Don Draper totally drew me in.

After this we made an attempt at Breaking Bad. I think we got 4 episodes into the first season before I called it quits. There was just nothing about Walter White that made me want to keep watching. I couldn’t get into the characters. At all. So we decided that maybe our run of good tv series had come to an end, much like one of Dexter’s victims.

And then, well, we decided to give Orange is the New Black a try. Because it was a Friday night and we had nothing else to watch, basically.

OITNBEpisode 1 drew me in….just like that. And really, it was only one tiny little scene where Chapman phones her fiancé after being in prison for what — two days? And went on a run-down of everything that had happened to her during that time. Because you know what? I could relate to that, because it’s totally something I would do if I were in the same position. And from that moment on, I wanted to know more. Surprisingly, this show is nothing like what I expected to be. I smell more binge-watching in our future.

So the whole point of this post isn’t to try and tell you to give these shows a shot. If you’re anything like me, that’s only going to turn you off, if you’re not already a fan. No…the point here, really, is about giving things a chance, even if you think you know how you feel.

Because you never know…you just might surprise yourself.

 

Leave a Reply

