Best Friends

I was recently talking with a friend of mine and during the course of the conversation it came up that I honestly feel as though CBG is my best friend. I know, I know…that’s one of those cutesy things that lots of married people say about their spouse, and lord knows that I’ve said it before in the past, about other people I’ve dated/married. I’ve thought a lot about this lately, though, and I’ve realized that a best friend needs to be more than just the person that you spend the majority of your time with (which is the main criteria I’d used to make this assessment in the past).

A best friend is more than just the person that you spend most of your time with. A best friend is the person that you can truly be yourself with. It is someone that you can talk and talk and talk with. It is someone who makes you laugh until your sides ache and tears stream down your cheeks. It is the person you think of first when you have some juicy news or gossip to share.  It is someone that you can sometimes sit beside in comfortable silence without every having to say a word. It is the person you can say the most ridiculous things in the world to, without having to worry about what they’re going to think. It is someone who “gets” you. It is the person who’s got your back in life, no matter what.

As I go down this checklist, I can put a happy little tick beside all of these things when it comes to CBG. He is my best friend. Not just because I love him, either. Because I truly enjoy his company and spending time with him. Because he is a pretty awesome person, who makes me want to be an awesome person, too.

And really, what more can someone ask for in a marriage?

m&T

3 Responses

  1. Love this. I so agree. M is my best friend through and through. Love this pic of you two!

  2. This is exactly how I feel about my husband too 🙂

Leave a Reply

