• Dr.5z5 Open Feed Directory
  • Top Rated

Shedding

I believe that throughout our lives we’re meant to grow and learn and change. We’re not meant to be the same people at 40 that we were at 20; imagine how boring life would be if we were! Though I’m sure there are lots of people out there who haven’t changed at all (In fact, I think I might even know a few). I’m just glad that I’m not one of them. Life is meant to teach us, challenge us, cause us to grow. I’m not certain what the point is, otherwise.

Lately I’ve found that I’ve been feeling a little extra navel-gazey. I go through periods like this from time to time, when I find myself doing a lot more thinking and questioning about myself and my life. This usually happens during times of personal growth, when I’m being challenged and forced out of my comfort zone for one reason or another. Sometimes there’s a reason for this — some kind of major life event that causes me to stop and re-evaluate. Other times, like now, it’s like it’s part of a natural growth process, not really happening for any one specific reason or other…just simply “because life”.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about my past and the person that I used to be. I’ve found myself being visited by old ghosts. Last week, while CBG and I were on vacation, we spent a lot of time cleaning and organizing and decluttering and painting our house. I’ve really been feeling the need to clear out the “old junk” that’s been hanging around.

Hellooooo, metaphor.

I can feel myself changing. Nothing big or drastic. Nothing earth-shattering or dramatic. Just a small shift beginning deep within myself, as I shed another layer of “who I used to be” to make room for “who I am now”. Much like a snake shedding its skin to allow for continued growth. I’m happy to say goodbye to that “old layer” so that I can make room for the new. I don’t want to be that same old person. I’m NOT that same old person.

I’m ready to move on.

3 Responses

  1. […] been doing a lot of thinking these past few days. About myself and my winter funk. About CBG and what he’s going through.  About marriage – both in general, and ours, […]

  2. […] I wrote about how I believe that we’re meant to grow and change throughout our lives and what a wonderful thing it is that we can, but right now, I’m scared of change. Even […]

  3. […] wrote recently about how I’ve been feeling a change beginning inside of myself. I wasn’t entirely certain what that meant when I wrote it, but now, many weeks later, things […]

Leave a Reply

