• Dr.5z5 Open Feed Directory
  • Top Rated

Crazy In Love

Marriage has its ups and downs. I fully expected it, having gone through a marriage before, and having dated CBG for almost four years before we said “I do”. I’d like to think that we entered into this whole thing with some realistic expectations.

I will admit that there’s one thing I didn’t expect. I never really expected those moments of complete and utter clarity where I can feel the love I have for my husband expanding tenfold…in the blink of an eye. They don’t come along often, and many times happen when I least expect it, when he’s not trying to be particularly lovable or sweep me off my feet. They come in those instances when he’s just busy being himself, and it touches me deeply in some unexpected way.

I experienced one such moment on Monday.

CBG and I have taken this week off work together. Originally we’d wanted it to be our family vacation to Disney, but even though that wasn’t in the cards this year after all, we decided to spend the week getting some long-overdue chores completed around the house. De-cluttering, organizing, a few home repair jobs, and most importantly, painting those last few rooms in our place that we hadn’t gotten around to painting.

We started with our girls’ rooms, since we’ve been promising them for the last two years that we’d paint their bedrooms. They were both really excited about it, particularly since we’d promised them that they could help. We started with Lil’ Mo’s room first. I did the cutting in, and then when the time came, CBG helped her with the rolling part. I was in the room finishing up my part as he talked her through how to fill the roller with paint, roll off the excess, and then start rolling the walls. Throughout the whole process he was gentle, patient and encouraging.

As I listened, I found myself being filled with love and gratitude…love for my husband, and gratitude that my girls have such a loving, patient, encouraging and generous step father. A man who has learned to love my girls like his own; who stuck with it even though it wasn’t something that came easily to him.

And in that small moment, in the middle of an ordinary un-glamourous moment, my husband made me fall in love with him all over again. He swept me off my feet without even trying…and I realized, yet again, how incredibly fortunate I am.

One Response

  1. I love your sweet family anecdotes.

Leave a Reply

