Things The Internet Taught Me This Week

It’s been quite the week online for me this week, kids. It’s been…shall we say…educational.

In no particular order, here are some things that the Internet taught me this week. Maybe it’s stuff you all already knew, but dang,  this was news to this gal. And if you’re learning something new today, too: you’re welcome.

1. Brad Pitt is FIFTY YEARS OLD.

So you’ve probably heard by now that apparently Brangelina finally made it legal over the weekend. He (eventually) decided he liked it and so he put a ring on it. Or something. The one article I read about this (because really, I don’t care whether they’re married or not) is that Brad Pitt is fifty. Fifty.

Let’s stop for a minute to think about this long and hard, shall we?

50? Seriously? How did this happen?

50? Seriously? How did this happen?

Now, if I’d been stopped on the street and asked to guess his age, and I thought long and hard about it, I’m sure I would have come up with a number pretty close to that. But dang. FIFTY. How is that even possible? In my 40 year old brain, this is where Brad Pitt is forever frozen:

Brad PittSigh.
2. Hello Kitty is NOT a cat.

File this one under “I don’t really care.” But I do find it pretty entertaining how up in arms the Internets are about this one. Seems like the Internet needs to rage about something. Why not this?

kittyNOT a cat? Really? If I actually cared, my mind just *might* be blown. You fooled us all, Sanrio. Good on you, I guess?

 

3. Tony Soprano didn’t die in the finale. Or wait. Maybe he did. We still don’t know for sure.

7 years later and people are still talking about this. Now that's good TV, people.

7 years later and people are still talking about this. Now that’s good TV, people.

I loved The Sopranos when it originally aired. When the series finale aired, I was riveted. The ending seemed clear to me — Tony got whacked.

But then early this week the headlines were screaming, “Tony Soprano didn’t die in the series finale!!” But then later the show’s creator kind of took it back again. The official word went back to the original explanation: Tony living or dying wasn’t really the point.

*cough* Bullshit *cough*

Spoiler alert: Tony Soprano is dead. There. Conversation over. You’re welcome.

 

4. There is a Facebook page dedicated to Jon Hamm’s penis.

Say what?

Say what?

I know, I know…..2007 called, welcoming me to the party. I just started watching Mad Men this week. I was home alone, looking for something to watch, and decided to give it a try. I’m not yet finished the first season and I am loving it.

And then this week I found out that Jon Hamm is rumored to have some…um…special assets. Or rather, one special asset in particular. So special in fact, it has its very own Facebook page. And now, I’ll be the first to admit that a big Bavarian Beefstick doesn’t really impress this gal. But….you know…natural human curiosity and all, and I’m finding myself face to face with Mr. Hamm’s Pantswombat.

I may be a little late to this party, but the important part is that I'm here now.

I may be a little late to this party, but the important part is that I’m here now.

I think I’ll keep watching Mad Men. Thanks.

 

Oh, Internet. How I love you sometimes.

8 Responses

  1. She’s fuzzy. She has tiny ears on top of her head. She has whiskers. She’s a cat.

  2. Brad and Angelina said they weren’t getting married until their gay friends could too. Last year same-sex marriage become legal in CA that’s why they finally got married. (I love that story, lol)

    • I also love that they got married quietly and NO ONE knew about it until after the fact. All of these celebrity weddings that get “intruded upon” by paparazzi? Well…private weddings by HUGE celebrities CAN happen…if they really want them to. 😉

  3. Welcome to the Interwebs. So educational. And weird.
    I’m fascinated by the idea of Jon Hamm’s sausage (ha, sorry!). I just wonder about the, er, logistics of it all.
    Re: Hello Kitty. What is the point of telling us she is not a cat? That’s my only question I have on that one.
    Enjoy Mad Men. I burned out on it for some reason. Never finished watching Sopranos, either come to think of it. I have TV commitment issues.

    • I have to admit that I’m more interested in Mr. Hamm’s sausage than I likely should be. I just can’t seem to look away. In *cough* researching for this blog post I’ve seen lots of pictures. I’ve also read that apparently they’ve had to photoshop that thing out of Mad Men promotional materials. Because, you know, men’s trousers in the 60s didn’t leave a lot to the imagination.

      Or maybe it was the pleats. heh.

  4. Loved this post!

  5. WHAT!?? Hello Kitty is not a CAT?? I would have never known. Thank you for opening my eyes, Momma Sunshine!

    -john

Leave a Reply

