• Dr.5z5 Open Feed Directory
  • Top Rated

100 Happy Days (Of a Different Kind)

images

A few months back I made the decision to go on a running streak. I decided that I would run at least 2 km every single day. At the time I made the decision, I wasn’t sure how long I would be able to keep up the streak, but somewhere in the back of my mind, I thought that maybe 30-ish days or so would be good.

When I hit the 30 day mark, I somehow didn’t feel “finished”. So I continued the streak, thinking that perhaps 40 would be good. Particularly symbolic since I turned 40 on my birthday this year.

Still, when 40 hit, it didn’t seem like enough. So I kept going, without any real end point in sight. All I knew was that it had to be an even number (because my obsessive-compulsive side wouldn’t allow me to stop on day 57 or 61 or some such nonsense.

Yesterday I hit Day 100.

100 solid days of running. During that time I ran anywhere from two to thirty kilometres. Most days I did something in the 5-10 km mark. I have a few random thoughts about my 100 day running streak.

– Damn 100 days goes by quickly. TOO quickly. Dear Life: you can slow down anytime, mmkay?

– I’m a pretty healthy person! Not once in 100 days was I sick and couldn’t run.

– I really do love running. Yes, yes, I knew this before, before the past 100 days really reminded me of that. I.love.it. Love. Truly.

– I never regret seeing a sunrise. I’ve seen a lot of them over the past 100 days. Each one is different and beautiful in its own way. I’ve come into my morning-person-ness

– My body is happiest when I am running regularly. I deal with a lot of aches and pains. Part of it is getting older, yes, but I have a lot of neck/upper back problems thanks to a car accident in my 20s. Even though I’ve been pushing my body these past 100 days, it feels better than it has in a long time. I’m more relaxed, I’m stronger. My muscles are singing from all the blood pumping through them daily.

– It feels good to challenge myself. There were some days that it was damn tough to drag myself out for an early morning run. But whenever I thought about just staying snuggled under the blankets, I reminded myself that I didn’t want to break this running streak because of laziness. No, when I decide that the streak has ended, I want it to be a purposeful decision.

– In the past, I allowed laziness to hold me back too often. Running is very much a mental game as much as it is a physical one, and more often than not, in the past, I allowed my brain to get in the way of me getting out for a run. Once staying home was no longer an option, I didn’t have that mental block there to stand in my way.

– The most rewarding runs are often on the days when it was toughest to get out the door. Nothing like that sense of accomplishment after pushing through those feelings of “BUT I DON’T WANNA!!!”

– On the tough days, the toughest part is usually just getting out the door. I would bargain with myself that all I needed to do was 2 km in order to fulfill my goal. There were actually very few days (less than 5) when I only did the 2 km…most of the time, once I got out there and my blood started pumping, I wanted to go further, and so I did.

– Not having the time is a shitty excuse for not exercising. Many mornings this summer I was up at 4:45-5:00. A little bit later on the weekends and during vacation week, but because I had made running a priority, I never had the “but I don’t have time” excuse for not getting out there. Especially since my minimum was 2 km…less than 15 minutes! Who doesn’t have time for at least a 15 minute workout?

So yeah. It’s been an interesting 100 days. I’m not sure where all of this is going, but I will mention this: This morning, Day 101 I got up and ran 10 km.

Staying home this morning hadn’t even crossed my mind.

One Response

  1. […] mid-August I hit the 100-day mark. Whoa! 100 days. I’ll admit, I felt pretty bad-ass. And yet, I didn’t feel quite […]

Leave a Reply

