Content

It was a bit of an odd weekend for CBG and I, in that we strayed from our usual “pattern” and did things a little differently. We sometimes get a little too caught up in the comfort of routine, which, don’t get me wrong…is…comforting…but it’s definitely good to break out of that once in a while.

We spent time with “Pebbles” (a rare thing for just the 3 of us, as our get-togethers usually involve my girls as well), we spent time both alone (him at Godzilla while I went out shopping), time together, and time with some good friends on Sunday morning. It was one of those weekends where I found myself loving CBG more by the end of it than I did at the beginning. For no particular reason.

Marriage is like that, I guess. Or for us, at least. Our love grows in those unexpected moments. A look, an extra squeeze holding hands at the Farmer’s Market, during a conversation with friends when I am reminded, yet again, of how much he “gets” me. Instances where I feel overwhelming gratitude for everything that CBG is.

I fell asleep on Sunday night in his arms, my cheek against the comforting warmth of his chest, feeling very loved and extremely grateful and most of all — content. Content with the direction our life has taken. Content with our marriage. Content with our love.

Instead of counting sheep, I counted my blessings. And I fell asleep long before I came to the end of the list.

2 Responses

  1. LOVE this. contentment is such a comforting feeling. I am glad you are channeling that right now friend.

  2. 🙂 🙂

    This post made me smile big.

Leave a Reply

