Nourishing The Soul

I’ve talked recently to CBG about how I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed lately with the pace of life these days. There feels like there’s to much to do, to many balls in the air, so many things to keep track of and remember and make happen. My mind is swimming on a daily basis, trying to keep on top of day-to-day life, never mind any extra drama that sometimes creeps into the mix from time to time.

For the most part there hasn’t been a lot of time for “extras” in my life. When we get in this mode, it’s basically just “survival” — getting done what needs to get done without a whole lot of extra things on the side. Life is just a perpetual hamster wheel of go, go, go all the time.

It’s exhausting. The worst part is that when in this mode, the things that get cut out of the life are often the very things that should be made a bigger priority. Like spending time with friends, which is something that I haven’t been doing a whole lot of in the last while. I think partly it’s just feeling like I don’t have a lot to offer other people, in my state of perpetual stress and busy-ness. Sometimes, when I’m at the peak of one of these cycles, giving time to others feels like just another thing on my ‘to-do’ list.

Last week I found myself missing one of my girlfriends that I haven’t spent time with since my wedding last summer. I reached out via text and we made plans to get together for a date to catch up. Once one of my single momma girlfriends, she is now also partnered and navigating the complicated waters of blended family life. We fell out of touch for a few months there, for no other reason than we’ve both just been incredibly busy and wrapped up in our own busy, stressful lives.

She picked me up and we went out to a local cheesecake restaurant that neither one of us had been to yet. We were positively giddy at not only the company, but at the dessert selection. We made our choices and grabbed a table together.

It was an evening that my soul desperately needed. We chatted, laughed, shared stories of blended family life, complained about our ex spouses, compared notes on life with our current partners and complained about our mutual jobs. All the while moaning over the deliciousness of our cheesecake.

Total Golden Girls evening.

This morning I woke up smiling, feeling just overall lighter in spirit. Sure, I took an evening when I “should” have been doing plenty of practical things and spent it doing nothing but sitting back and gabbing my face off, but it was desperately needed — for both of us. Sure, I had my “Day of Sunshine” this past weekend, but there’s something about just hanging with a girlfriend for a few hours that does the soul so much good.

Last night was a good reminder that despite how busy life gets, we all need to make time to nourish our souls — in whatever way that means to us personally. Sure, alone time is great and a very necessary part of life, but so is spending time with the people that we care about. Because sure, it requires a little giving on our part, but there is so much to be gained as well.

It’s time I figured my priorities out again.

2 Responses

  1. I may not always comment, but I always read. I also ALWAYS learn something.

    Life is fast & furious. Especially when you have a full time job, and a second job on the side. And, I’m not like you. I have no kids at home. I did, however, have my grandson this weekend. Unexpectly for many more hours than I had planned. The hours that I didn’t plan to have him, I had a to-do chore list a mile long. I had to matter of factly make myself be in the present with him and not think about what I COULD BE doing. It was very hard. But now I have those memories of us together. And what I’ve come to learn is that there will ALWAYS be something on the chore list. Always!

    • Thank you, Tammy. 🙂

      I have those times, too, when I have to stop and remind myself to stay in the moment and enjoy where I’m at, without looking ahead or thinking about that never-ending to-do list. It’s tough, but I’m always happier when I’m able to do that. Glad to hear that I’m not the only person who struggles with this.

Leave a Reply

