100 Happy Days

It’s no newsflash that I’ve been struggling with positivity lately. I’m not 100% sure what’s going on, really. A little emotional crisis of sorts, I guess, where I’ve been basically questioning everything about myself. I had a bit of a meltdown on Friday, where all the self-doubt and self-loathing that I’ve been keeping at bay for the last good long while just suddenly came flooding in.

It was ugly.

Today, as I write this, I’m feeling better, but still a bit…tender. My Inner Critic really walloped my ass but good. It’s not something that I can pull myself back up out of very easily, particularly since my Inner Critic is smart enough to point out all of those things that there’s a grain of truth to. Lies I can easily put down. But harsh truths? Well…that’s a a lot more difficult.

In an effort to focus on the positive things in my life, I’ve decided to participate in the ‘100 Happy Days’ challenge that I’ve seen a bunch of people participating in right now. If you’re not familiar with it, the idea is that every day for 100 days, you post a picture of something that makes you happy with the hashtag #100HappyDays. It will be good to help me re-shift my focus away from the not-so-great things that my Inner Critic is beating me over the head with, to the many good things that I have going on in my life. Because logically, I know that there are lots of great things. I just need to remember to look for them. Daily.

If you want to follow my photos I’ll be posting them on Instagram (kellyhfx) and on my personal Facebook account, for those of you who are friends with me there. If anyone feels like joining me, I’d love it if you did. You can check out the 100 Happy Days Website here: 100 Happy Days  . I love this idea and I’m really looking forward to shifting my focus a bit.

And they won’t all be pictures of sunrises and oatmeal, I promise.

happiness

3 Responses

  1. Have fun with it! I was totally expecting all pictures of oatmeal and your runs! Looking forward to what you post. I’ll be playing along too because we can all use a little more happiness in our lives! Thanks for pointing this out to me!

  2. Haha! I like the sunrises and oatmeal too! Hey, if that makes you happy every day, why not?

    Sending you so much love. I’m here if you need me.

  3. […] happy to report that I successfully completed the 100 Happy Days project that I embarked upon over three months […]

Leave a Reply

