Love Looks a Lot Like a Banana

Anyone can go for the grand gestures in a relationship. Flowers, chocolate, jewellery, trips around the world. Sure, those things are nice, but to me, they’re pretty easy.

Don’t get me wrong, though, I certainly wouldn’t turn down an impromptu Carribbean vacation if my husband wanted to whisk me off on one.

………….

…………..

*cough*

More than anything, love is made up of those small gestures that might otherwise go unnoticed on a busy day. Like when your wife scoops up your dirty socks from the bedroom floor and tosses them into the hamper for you. Or turning on the heat seater for your thin-blooded Mrs. on cold winter mornings.

Sometimes, love even comes in the form of a banana.

This morning, CBG and I were on the way to work and had just hit the end of our street when I was struck by an important realization. I’d forgotten my banana. Every morning I eat breakfast at my desk at work. Breakfast always, always, ALWAYS includes a banana. Forgetting a banana might be a small annoyance to some people, but not to this gal. I am usually pretty precise in what I eat most days. And because of my dietary restrictions (no gluten, very little dairy and for the time being, no sugar), I have to make sure that I have food on hand that I eat.

Because nobody wants to see me hangry. Trust me.

Immediately upon realizing that I’d forgotten my banana, a minor panic began to set in. My mind was swirling. No banana = starving by about 11:00. Starving at 11:00 would force me to eat my lunch early. Early lunch = starving again by 3:00 pm. Disaster!

“Ugh! I forgot my banana!!!” I pouted.

Silence from my husband.

“Dammit! I don’t know what I’m going to do!”

My wonderful man had an errand to run before work, but offered to pick me up a banana on his way back. No dice. It was unknown how long his errand would delay his return to the office and since I went for a run this morning, putting off breakfast for an unknown length of time could end badly.

I explained this to him.

With more whining.

“What do you want me to do?” He asked.

What I really wanted was for him to wave his magic wand and make me not so scatterbrained so that I didn’t forget my precious fruit to begin with. Or, if he indeed DID have a wand, then he could just make one magically appear in my bag.

I hesitated. The next solution meant turning around and returning home. But there was no way I was going to suggest that. I mean…it’s a banana. I may be a bit of a spoiled princess but I’m not a total asshole.

Well…not usually anyhow.

“Do you want me to go home so you can get it?” he questioned.

“Yes.” I replied meekly.

(I mean, he OFFERED, right? I couldn’t turn it down. It might hurt his feelings. heh.)

And so, my loving husband zipped around the block and stopped back at the house so I could run back into the house and grab my banana. My glorious, glorious banana. The star of my morning oatmeal…without which I would have been starving and hangry long before lunchtime.

Love is in those tiny little moments like this morning when he proves to me the depths of his love and devotion. Because yeah, I know I’m sometimes difficult and a total pain in the ass to deal with. And he puts up with me and all my silly quirks and demands, and loves me anyway.

And I love him for it.

THIS is what love looks like in my world.

THIS is what love looks like in my world.

3 Responses

  1. Haha I love that he went home and got your banana (there seem to be way too many TWSS potentials here though, with said banana, but I shall refrain hehe). M would totally do this for me too, and this is why they are the best 😉

  2. Ha! ^ What Jo said. 😉

    And my mind would be spinning too. Nothing worse than HANGRY!

Leave a Reply

