• Dr.5z5 Open Feed Directory
  • Top Rated

Happiness

Happiness has a way of sneaking up on you. Sometimes when you least expect it.

It happened to me just this weekend. One minute I was standing in my kitchen, cooking Sunday night dinner, and the next I found myself frozen in my tracks with one pervasive thought.

I am happy.

I’m not happy in that, “everything-in-my-life-is-absolutely-perfect-and-I-don’t-want-anything-at-all-to-change” way. (Does that kind of happiness even exist?) No, my happiness is more of the, “my-life-is-lovely-just-the-way-it-is” variety.

No, not perfect, but pretty damned fantastic regardless. The kind of happiness that once seemed like it was forever out of my grasp. The kind of happiness that I once questioned whether I even deserved it. Happiness that I now know I deserve and have firmly within my grasp. Happiness that I worked for. Worked just to see, some days. Because the thing I’ve learned over the years is that the happiness was always there, I just wasn’t always recognizing it, or letting it in. Some days I was even (gasp!) actively standing in my own goddamn way.

Happy people don’t necessarily have these amazing lives with perfect good looks, oodles of money, giant houses and perfect spouses. Happy people just make the choice to look beyond the less-than-perfect parts of life and focus on the good stuff. Because there is always good stuff.

Happy Friday, friends! May you all find the happiness that’s there in your life, too. Take a good long look — you will find it.

happiness

2 Responses

  1. LOVE this. sometimes the happiness is in the in-between moments sometimes missed. XO!

  2. YES! Contended happy is the best happy!

Leave a Reply

