2014: The Resolutions

I’ve been really hesitant to write down my resolutions, to commit them to this blog and all 4 readers that I have. But I’m going with the whole idea that writing down goals and sharing them with people help to keep us honest when it comes to these things. Accountability and all that jazz.

So here we go. My 10 goals for 2014. Feel free to call bullshit on me when I fail to live up to them without a damned good excuse.

1. Run 1,000 km.

This one was inspired by my friend Alison DeLory, who committed to, and attained, this particular goal in 2013. I’ve never attached a certain mileage goal to my running like this. This will be challenging for me, as I don’t have a treadmill; most of these 1,000 km (621 miles) will be run between March and October, since getting out during the winter is always tough for me, thanks to icy sidewalks, dark mornings and cold temperatures. Even accounting for all of this, I think that 1,000 km is attainable for me, if I make a focused effort during my prime running months.

2. Do at least 3 road races.

Last year the only road race I did was walking the half marathon with CBG back in September. It was great, don’t get me wrong, but this was his goal and I was merely there for moral support. Wedding planning and not feeling 100% physically for most of the summer meant that any kind of training was put on the back burner. But with the wedding out of the way, and me feeling a lot better physically, there is nothing stopping me from taking part in some official road races. I don’t know if it’ll be 10km races, half marathons, or if I’ll shoot for another full marathon, but I do know that I want to add to that race bib collection! I’m sure the specifics of this one will take form as the year progresses.

3. Family vacation in the fall.

CBG and I promised the kids that we wouldn’t take another vacation alone together without taking them someplace first. With the wedding in 2013 and CBG’s employment situation being less than ideal, a family vacation just wasn’t in the cards. But it’s game on for 2014, and I’m going to do my best to scrimp and save so we can take those kids of ours on a family adventure.

4. Finish renovating/decorating our place.

When we first moved into our place in the summer of 2012, it needed a lot of work. And a lot of things were done. But again, this is another area where things went off the rails a bit as we focused on the wedding. We’ve still got more than half our place to paint. We need more decor. We need some more furniture. Although the place feels cozy and “us”, its still not where I want it to be. But by the end of this year, I want the painting to be done and for our place to finally feel like “ours”.

5. Do more yoga.

I love yoga and I know that it’s good for me. Between all the running and working a desk job, being able to stretch everything out is a good thing. In the last couple of years I haven’t made the effort to pursue my yoga practice like I once did. And dammit, I have every intention of changing this. So really, since I did basically NO yoga in 2013, “more” in 2014 should be pretty attainable.

6. Declutter/Get organized.

Five years ago when I moved out of my ex-husband’s house, it was with very little. I remember how empty the little two-bedroom apartment that I moved into with my girls, felt. I was basically starting life over from scratch. And now, five years later, we’re still living in a small space, but our little house feels like it’s bursting at the seams now with so.much.STUFF. I think that because for a while there I had so little, I find it hard to let go of what I have now, even if it’s things that I don’t necessarily want or need. But I’m feeling that the time has come. My life is now full of friendship, laughter, love and joy…I don’t need it to be filled up with material objects.

7. Try meditation.

I’m well aware of the fact that I’m not very good at slowing down. I’ve long been drawn to the idea of meditation, but I’m not so sure that I can slow my mind down enough to do it. But in 2014 I’m going to give it a try. At least then if I decide that it’s not for me, I know it for sure. And who knows? Maybe I’ll discover something that I love.

8. Read at least 12 books.

I know…12 doesn’t seem like much. I used to love reading, and always had my nose in a book when I was younger, but that’s something that’s fallen by the wayside a bit as I’ve gotten older. I often “peck away” at a book here and there, maybe reading 4 or 5 books in the run of a year. I want to get back into the habit of reading, as a way of slowing down a bit more and making time for me, doing something that I love.

9. Dedicate Myself More to Nurturing my Friendships.

The last few years I haven’t spent as much time as I should with my friends. I have some pretty amazing friends that I love spending time with, but you know what life is like…it’s busy for all of us. And between work, home, my kids and my husband, nurturing my friendships is something that sometimes falls by the wayside. I plan to make a bigger effort with this in 2014…to showing them how important they are and how much I value them.

10. Seek Adventure.

A little vague, yes. I’m not 100% sure what I mean with this one, to be honest. There’s adventure to be found all around us, and I want to make an effort to seek it out. Adventure in the every day.

11. Do Something Creative (Outside of Writing)

Sure, I do a lot of writing, but at this point, I don’t really consider it a creative outlet. I used to be a creative person, but somewhere along the way it’s fallen a bit by the wayside. Creativity is like a muscle…if you don’t use it, you lose it. And I feel like I’ve lost a lot of it. My hope is that creativity has “muscle memory” and getting it back won’t be all that tough.

12. Inspire and Be Inspired.

My main goal for 2014 is to live an inspiration-worthy life. Inspiration doesn’t necessarily come from huge gestures or major life events; often it happens in the small, every day moments. I will also do what I can to seek out inspiration in my world. From the people and places around me. In both expected and unexpected places. Inspiration is all around me, and 2014 will be the year that I pay attention to that.

new opportunity

10 Responses

  1. Those seem like healthy goals to me. I think you got this.

    And God Bless for getting out there running in icy temps. Seriously #assslap.

    Love you.

  2. I commend you for figuring it out and writing it down! You have already inspired someone! (Me!) But you always do!

  3. I love these goals, friend! the one about nurturing friendships, I am so all about. I think I focused a lot in 2013 on prioritizing life, including friendships and spent time with those friends that meant the most and reciprocated and now I want to take that one step further too, and nurture those even more. Love your run goals too, naturally!

    • I’ve been so inwardly focused this past year (hello wedding planning!) that I’ve let some areas of my life slide…like my friendships. I want to focus on turning that around this year. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Meditate. You will love it. Download/buy Gabby Bernstein’s book, May Cause Miracles. 40 days to YOU……nothing like it. And for me.,…I NEED to be outside, hiking, walking & breathing in fresh air. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks for the book recommendation, I’ll definitely check it out. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ve always called running “moving meditation” for me, but I’m also interested in attempting to sit down and meditate in the “good old fashioned way”. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. […] also been keeping in mind my New Year’s Resolution to run at least 1,000 km in 2014. I’m currently slightly ahead of my monthly goal for […]

  6. […] year when January hit, I set myself a list of goals and resolutions for the upcoming year. One of them was to run at least 1,000 km in 2014. I’ve never set a mileage goal like that […]

Leave a Reply

