• Dr.5z5 Open Feed Directory
  • Top Rated

Kicking Negativity’s Ass

I try really hard to be a positive person. Admittedly, I’m not successful at this 100% of the time. I do fall into blue funks now and then, or struggle with only seeing the shitty things in life sometimes.

[Hey —  I’m awesome, not perfect.]

I find myself particularly struggling when I am around other negative people. I am sensitive to the moods of other people….so when someone that I’m close to is having a bad day, it often brings me down. The good news is that this works the other way, too — when I’m around happy and positive people, it makes me feel happy and positive too.

It can be tough to pull myself up out of a negative space when there’s negativity around me. It just is. I’ve realized lately that I’ve allowed myself to be pulled down by individuals and events around me. Not that I’ve been down in the dumps or anything, just that I’ve been a lot more negative and cynical than I normally am –or that I want to be. Now, I understand that life isn’t always rosy. Shitty things happen  in life from time to time. Nothing is perfect in life. Shitty events and people wear us down. It’s part of life.

But once we allow ourselves to get dragged down, then suddenly we’re seeing everything through murky, shit-coloured glasses. All the less-than-perfect parts of life are glaringly obvious all.the.time. The good stuff pales in comparison. It’s hard to feel happy and excited by life when everything is viewed through a cynic’s critical, suspicious eye.

That outlook might be okay for some people, but it’s not okay for me. I would rather go through life with wild, blind optimism than with shit-coloured glasses. The optimist is less suspicious of others and is more willing to show some compassion and cut people a little slack. The optimist sees that while A,B and C aren’t great right now, X,Y and Z absolutely are. The optimist rolls with the punches, sees the rainbow that comes at the end of the rainstorm. The optimist smiles, knowing that it will pay off, one way or the other.

Now, I don’t know if I believe that better things necessarily happy to people with a positive attitude. Maybe this is true, maybe this isn’t. What I do know is that in general, people like positive people. They are attracted to them. They want to spend time with them, and do nice things FOR them. I know that positive people are better able to let the garbage of life slide off their backs because when you’re feeling happy and upbeat, the crappy stuff just doesn’t seem nearly as crappy. Much like a negative attitude, positivity is contagious. So in my books, positivity works. Life absolutely gets better when you work to maintain a positive attitude.

I’ve been wearing those shit-coloured glasses for a while now, and it’s time to take them off and give myself another much needed attitude adjustment. Because the truth is, life is pretty damn good, even with the hardships and imperfections. And even better, there are some good things on the horizon for CBG and I as we head into another year together. And I don’t want to miss one single thing because I can’t see what’s right in front of me.

I’m planning on making a few changes to help push away the negativity in my life and allow the positivity to grow and multiply. I know the person that I am, underneath it all, and the person that I want to be. And you know what? Positivity is going to win this round.

positivity

One Response

  1. Reblogged this on Achilliad's Blog and commented:
    Honestly,humbly and candidly, I reblog thee. Good psot!

Leave a Reply

