Becoming Quiet

Quiet

There’s too much noise in my world. In all our worlds, really. There is so much noise, so many distractions. Between my phone, my iPod, my computer, the TV and the people around me, I’m really hardly ever truly alone anymore.

I know that this is a problem. My mind is full, and I invite in even more clutter and distraction to keep myself away from the things that I might not want to examine. I zone out…starting at Twitter and Facebook on my phone when I have a few minutes so I don’t have to think about my negative mood and what might be behind it.

Because thinking about all of these things means that I have to do something about it, doesn’t it?

Lately I have been making a real effort to be more quiet. I walk to work most days and instead of plugging in my headphones, I have made the choice to not listen to music. I observe everything around me — the sights, the sounds, the smells. I allow myself whatever thoughts happen to come up — even the uncomfortable ones.

One day this week I even chose to go for a run without my iPod. This is a Big Deal for me. I never run without music. It was short, it was quick, but it wasn’t nearly as horrible as I thought it would be. Even with music, running is my thinking time. I may have that added stimulus of music to get my blood pumping, but it’s the time when I sort through all of the noise and the distractions in my brain. Maybe it’s all the running I’ve been doing lately that’s been motivating me to seek even more quiet time, time to listen to my brain and talk to my heart a bit more.

I find myself craving a weekend getaway. Cabin in the woods, completely unplugged from the outside world. Books, a journal, my yoga mat, my running shoes and me. Sadly, it’s not in the cards right now, so I’ll just have to take my small moments of quiet when I can steal them.

It’s good to be quiet sometimes. That’s when that Little Voice inside is heard most clearly. I don’t know if it’s that it has something special to tell me right now, or if I just miss its quiet wisdom. Hopefully I will find out soon.

3 Responses

  1. I hear you.

  2. I literally just this week told GJ that I need to escape to a cabin in the woods. I would love to hibernate there for my birthday weekend. We’ll see…

    Sending you peace.

  3. […] And then, it happened. One of those rare, goose-bumpy moments in life that will stick with me forever. A moment that were if my life were playing on a movie screen, would be part of a montage of clips of the highlights of my life. A brief exchange that I will continue to replay in my memory for a very long time to come. A tiny moment that might have just passed me by had I not been quiet and listening. […]

Leave a Reply

