Attitude Adjustment

positive-attitudeI’ve been doing some thinking the past couple of days.

About my health.

About how I’ve been feeling.

And most of all, my attitude about it all.

There are certain things that I can’t control.

I can’t control the change in seasons.

I can’t control how my body physically reacts to the cold, dark winter days.

I can’t control the other people in my life — their attitudes, their choices, their reactions, their actions, their decisions.

But you know what I can control?

Yeah…I know…I kind of gave it away already. But in case you weren’t paying attention at the beginning, let me spell it out a little more clearly.

The one thing that I can control in all of this is my attitude.

The kind of crappy thing is that I forget about this sometimes. most of the time. Fortunately, I found a reminder yesterday. A reminder that a stinky attitude makes a stinky situation reek even more. A reminder that there are people (i.e. CBG) who need me to step up and be the strong one right now. A reminder that — you know what? Even with the struggles I’ve got going on right now, I’ve still got it pretty stinking good.

And so this is me. Keeping my bitchiness in check. Because ain’t nobody got time for that.

I will do my best to put aside those things that are out of my control, and work on those things that I can control.

I will work on taking good care of myself, physically. I will get enough rest. I will eat healthy, nourishing food. I will exercise without pushing myself too hard. I will follow up with my doctor.

I will do things that make me feel good — physically, mentally and emotionally. I will attempt to set aside the negative and embrace the positive. I will surround myself with people that I care about and turn my attention to loving and caring for them as best I can.

And most of all….I will cut myself some slack when I’m not the best at doing these things.

Attitude Adjustment. Sometimes we just need a reminder that we need to set aside the self-pity and step up to the plate.

Just someone remember to give me a little nudge when I need it again, okay? 😉

3 Responses

  1. Girlfriend, I’ll remind you if you remind me.

    It’s tough when things are going along and you don’t realize that you’re affecting someone and they’re affecting you. Because when their affection (!) feels good or you’re reacting in a positive way, it seems awesome. When things shift, you’re feeling crappy and it takes a minute before you realize that you’re letting external things bug you.

    The fact that you remember you have a control over something is good. That’s way beyond what some people realize. Some just continue to blame and play victim.

    And you know what? I do that too sometimes…even when I know, deep down, that I can adjust my attitude. Sometimes, I just don’t wanna.

    Hope you have a great weekend! xxoo

    • ha ha you know what? That’s absolutely true…sometimes I don’t want to adjust my attitude either. Sometimes it just feels GOOD to be bitchy. I just need to know when to allow it and when to declare “enough!”. I guess I just reached my “enough!” point this week. 😉

  2. […] glasses for a while now, and it’s time to take them off and give myself another much needed attitude adjustment. Because the truth is, life is pretty damn good, even with the hardships and imperfections. And […]

Leave a Reply

