Loving My Man

Now, it’s no secret around these parts how crazy I am about CBG. I’ve dedicated many blog posts over the past four and a half years to how much I love that man of mine. Some of you may even be kind of sick of reading all about it, who knows.

So if you’re one of those people, best stop reading now. 😉

One of the things that makes what CBG and I have special is that even though I’m absolutely head over heels in love with him (still!), it’s not a blind love. We see one another for the people that we are — flaws and all — and that love grows as we expose our flaws and our vulnerabilities to one another. We’re not perfect, either one of us, and yet our love continues to grow.

I’m pretty sure that at least one of the mistakes I made in past relationships was putting the object of my affection up on a pedestal. I loved them only for all the awesome things about them; to the point that it made me blind to their flaws and weaknesses. And once those weaknesses eventually showed (which they always do), that person fell down off that pedestal — hard.

With CBG it’s different. I see his flaws and imperfections (pretty clearly, I’d like to think). And I love him even more…because all of those less-than-perfect parts come together to make him a whole person. And I love him for the whole…the perfect and imperfect parts alike.

I could write for days about the things that I love about him. I’ll spare you that, and tell you about just one thing that I was recently inspired by. Yesterday we were on a training walk together for CBG’s half marathon coming up in September. As we were rounding the corner for home, at the end of our nearly 15 k walk, I found myself thinking about how much I admire his ability to keep pushing forward and challenging himself in life. This half marathon is a prime example of that (though certainly not the only one). Four and a half years ago when we met, he never would have considered embarking on such a challenge. In fact, I’m sure the words “never in a million years” likely would have been declared had I even suggested the idea.

And yet, four and a half years later, here we are. Instead of being complacent and settling in his life, he’s pushing himself toward new goals. And damn, if that’s not something to admire in someone, I don’ t know what is.

Every day I love this man just a little bit more….and I can’t wait to be his wife.

2 Responses

  1. Thank you again for listening the other day. Sorry I haven’t responded. My mind is busy and you left me thinking… a LOT. This post left me thinking too.

    It takes SELF-acceptance before you’re able to accept someone else’s flaws. And that speaks volumes about who you are.

    Love you.

  2. […] me more, and brings me more happiness than I ever imagined. And yet, as I’ve mentioned before, it’s not perfect. We have our share of difficulties and struggles. All couples do. And yet, somewhere, in the deep […]

Leave a Reply

