Solo Sunday

This past weekend I got one of those rare opportunities to have a day to myself. CBG was off spending the weekend with Ankle Biter, and in the morning the girls went off with their dad to spend Father’s Day with him. So I was all on my own.

Truth be told, I’ve been looking forward to having a day to myself for a few weeks now. I’m the kind of person who needs a certain amount of time to myself. Growing up, because of the big age gap in my family, I was basically like an only child. I grew up in a rural area and didn’t see my friends much outside of school. As I grew older I always valued having time just for me. It was something that I missed terribly when my girls were little and I was a stay at home mom.

For those four years that CBG and I were doing the long distance thing, the one benefit was that I got plenty of alone time. I had two nights every week when the girls were off with their dad that were all mine. Sure, sometimes I spent those nights moping around and feeling more than a bit sorry for myself, but for the most part I enjoyed having time to recharge my batteries.

Now with CBG living here, time like this to myself if hard to come by. To be clear: this is not a complaint in any way. As I’ve recently written about, I love having him here – so very much. But even with that, I still need a certain amount of “me time”, and lately, that’s been a little bit lacking.

So Sunday was a welcome day for me. After the girls went off with their dad I headed out for a nice long run. I had a quiet shower in peace, I ate lunch in front of the TV, glued to one of my guilty pleasures lately “Say Yes to the Dress”, before heading out into the sunshine for a nice walk around the neighbourhood.  I picked up some food for dinner before coming home and spending the rest of the time cooking and cleaning up a storm. By the time CBG rolled in the door at around 8:00 pm I was relaxed, smiling, and very much glad to get a huge hug.

Thanks to a little Sunday solo time, I started the week with a smile, feeling relaxed and refreshed, my stress levels lower than they’ve been in a while. It was a good reminder for me of how important time to myself really is, just to feel happy and balanced.

Note to self: Take more alone time. You’re a better person for it.

One Response

  1. Oh my goodness yes. AGREED – in all caps!

Leave a Reply

