How to Make a Bad Day Just a Little Bit Better

There are so many, many things that I love about having CBG living here with me.

Even though he’s been here almost 10 months, I’m still at the, “OMG, I can’t believe he’s really here” phase. Every day I feel a deep gratitude that he’s here. Sometimes I wake up in the night and experience a little thrill when I realize that no, he’s not leaving in the morning. Or tomorrow morning. Or the morning after that.

Yeah. You get the idea.

I’m pretty sure that we’re not going to start taking each other for granted anytime soon. The one benefit of our long distance relationship is that it gave us the ability to truly appreciate life together. So even though those four years were incredibly, incredibly difficult, we learned a lot, and I think, ultimately have a stronger relationship now because of it.

It’s been a tough few months lately at work, with the last couple of weeks being particularly bad. Um…hello stress. There have been days in the last several weeks where, at the end of the day, I wanted nothing more than to collapse in an exhausted heap and cry. With my head in a bag of Doritos. And a giant bucket of ice cream in arm’s reach.

But instead, there’s been CBG. CBG who listens to me bitch and moan. Who sympathizes. Who hugs me ’til my spine cracks. Who helps me plot revenge on those that have wronged me on any particular day. Who makes me laugh but doesn’t mind if I cry a few tears. Who prevents me from diving headfirst into a bag of potato chips to deal with the stress. Who gives me a warm, furry chest to fall asleep on.

CBG….who makes every bad day just a little bit better. Without even trying.

3 Responses

  1. I know that’s the truth. There’s quite a bit to *swoon* about there!

  2. There is a lot of swoon in this post 🙂 And I love it. And I totally agree…even though we have been living together almost two years, every day I wake up with M next to me, I marvel at it. Love the happy 🙂

  3. […] time like this to myself if hard to come by. To be clear: this is not a complaint in any way. As I’ve recently written about, I love having him here – so very much. But even with that, I still need a certain amount of “me time”, and […]

Leave a Reply

