Why I Love the 80s

I love taking road trips with CBG. We’ve taken a few over the years, all over the Maritimes and even to Maine early last summer. No matter how long the drive, we never run out of things to talk about. Ever.

Just this past weekend when we were taking a trip with our girls to visit Ankle Biter for a couple of days, we got talking about our favourite decade, the 80s. We both grew up in the 80s and have many fond memories from that time period. There’s nothing we love more than driving in the car together and belting out 80s tunes – the cheesier the better. Our last road trip got me thinking about the 80s more than usual, and all of the reasons why I love that decade so much.

Here are just a few things that I love (and miss!) about the 80s.leg warmers

The fashion. Let’s see….jelly shoes, neon clothes, legwarmers and acid washed jeans. I don’t think I’ve ever been into fashion as much since, as I was back in the 80s. I loved my legwarmers and jelly bracelets. And crimped hair? Hello! Nothing says 80s more than a big ole’ bouffant hairdo with crimped ends. And please, tell me that I’m not the only one out there who remembers friendship pins. Nothing screamed “I’m awesome!” back in the 80s like having your sneaker laces covered with friendship pins.

Anyone else remember these?

Anyone else remember these?

The music. Thwhamere are so many things to love about 80s music. The one-hit wonders. The cheesy ballads. The over-the-top music videos. Madonna before she looked like Skeletor. I have a particular fondness for some of the more obscure songs and artists, and it impresses the hell out of CBG when I recognize (and can sing along with!) a song that has been long forgotten by most of our generation. Sometimes I’m not sure if I should brag about this or be embarrassed by it.

The TV shows. There were so many great television shows back in the day — Facts of Life, Love Family tiesBoat, The Greatest American Hero, Fantasy Island, Knight Rider, Family Ties….I could keep this list going all day. They just don’t make TV shows like those, with the celebrities we cared about in the 80’s. Shows that the whole family can sit down and enjoy together like we used to. Sure, there are shows that I watch with my girls now on occasion, but you can’t tell me that iCarly is today’s equivalent of “The Cosby Show”. It’s just not the same.

FootlooseThe movies. There were so many movies back in the 80s that seemed to define the decade. Say Anything, The Breakfast Club, Ferris Bueller’s Day off…movies that I can (and do!) still watch even today. They may not necessarily stand the test of time (I’m not sure if my girls will ever appreciate the gloriousness that is the movie Flashdance, but they’ve got some great memories for me and I’ll continue watching them until I’m a little old lady I’m sure.

What about everyone else? Do you enjoy the 80s as much as I do? What’s your favourite thing about the 80s that you’re willing to admit here?

2 Responses

  1. I love the 80s. TV shows, music, they don’t make ’em like they used to hehe. BTW do you realize it’s been almost a full YEAR since we met? Sad face.

Leave a Reply

