Re-Training

This morning I went out for a run. It was my second one this week. I took a bit of a running hiatus this winter, thanks to a combination of sciatica, adrenal fatigue, a likely sprinkle of S.A.D.,  and shitty weather. On the one hand, not running really sucked. On the other, my body was obviously telling me to slow down, and so I respected that.

But now? I’m feeling a lot more like myself. The sciatica has settled somewhat, the treatments from my naturopath have helped with the adrenal fatigue, and the weather is slowly improving. I need to get back out there — stress levels at work are high, and I know that running will help. Plus, there’s that whole, “I have a wedding dress to look fabulous in, in just over 4 months” thing. Those are two really big motivators to lace up my running shoes and hit the streets. ‘Cuz those wedding  photos will be around forever, yo.

I’m easing into things, despite my inclination to go balls to the wall with it. This morning’s run was an easy 7 km. Not too long, not too fast, just a little something to remind my body what this running things feel like. What I didn’t expect was for my body to respond with, “Oh yeah! I’ve totally got this!” The run felt really great, physically. My silly old sciatic hip was hurting a bit, but nothing major. My breathing was good. My legs were happy.

What I hadn’t anticipated was that it’s going to take some time for my brain to get “re-trained” for this running thing. Because even though my body knew what to do this morning, and did it with relative ease, my brain sadly, did not. One thing I’ve discovered in all of my years running is that running it much more a mental game than a physical one. There is a certain mental zone that you need to be able to get yourself in, that makes running easy. It’s a state of moving meditation…where you can just zone out and do your thing. And if you can’t do that, then every single step is torture.

And that’s where I was this morning. Every step of the 7km required effort, just because I couldn’t get my brain in the zone. I know that I will able to get myself there again, but it’s definitely going to require some mental training.

I’m already anticipating the results…because I know that the payoff for getting there will be great.

2 Responses

  1. yay! I love this!! In a slightly similar way, after stupid dreadmill runs this winter, finally getting out there in the outdoors, fresh air, and birds chirping, THAT is running, THAT is when I feel my best, not on the stupid mill. I am so glad you are feeling better and more like you. Nicely done 🙂 (see any bunnies?!)

  2. Haha! I was thinking about bunnies too!

    I so hear you. I’ve started running again (slowly) myself due to sciatic and hip issues. One run will be great and the next is painful… as in “I DON’T WANNA DO THIS” painful. My brain talks me out of it even when I’m doing it!

    Glad to hear that the big goal will get you out there. Motivation is good!

Leave a Reply

