Spring is Springing

My girls are on March break this week and while I would love to be able to take the entire week off to spend with them, I sadly don’t have the vacation days to do it. I took one single day off — yesterday — piggybacked on our weekend together, and decided to do my damndest to make the most of it.

There were board games, exercising together, giggles, a coffee date, storytelling, a few teachable moments, a lovely walk to the store, baking treats for CBG (at their insistence) and even family walk together through the park in our backyard after supper together as a family. It was truly an awesome day. One of those parenting days that I walk away from feeling balanced, connected with girls, and content with life.

Another thing I noticed, with all the time we were spending outside, was how “spring-ish” it was feeling. My health is coming back; I’m feeling a lot more energetic and motivated to get back out there with those morning runs and re-gaining the fitness I lost over the winter as I dealt with adrenal issues and sciatica.

Not to mention the fact that I’ve got a wedding coming up in six-ish months. It may only be one day, but damn, those photos are going to be around forever.

Spring is in the air. Finally. With the warmer weather and the longer days I am finding my motivation to make my body move again. It’s been a long, dark, cold and exhausting winter. But now I’m ready to get back out there. Remember my vow to make 2013 my year for Kicking Ass and Taking Names? Well, I haven’t forgotten it. It’s time for me to get back to the business of making that happen.

Alright, spring. Bring it. I’m beyond ready for you.

2 Responses

  1. SPRING!!!!!!!! finally!!! Don’t you feel so much more alive with this weather improving? Glad your health is improving too friend!

  2. Hooray! I think the warmer weather is turning around a LOT of our attitudes! Go girl!

Leave a Reply

