Bad-Assery All The Way

It’s long been a bucket list item of mine to participate in a Polar Bear Dip. I just love the idea of it — washing away the old year, starting fresh in the new one. I also love the fact that it takes a certain amount of balls to get out there and do it. I used to watch news footage of those crazy fools out there, jumping into the water, and wishing that *I* had that kind of courage.

Well this  year, I managed to find the courage that I needed. In keeping with my goal of this being the year for kicking ass and taking names, I decided that it was the time to put up or shut up. The last thing I wanted was for this to be some kind of silly life regret for me. No siree bub. This year I sacked up and went for it.

Wanna know what a woman freezing her ladyballs off looks like? Well, you need look no further.

(For those of you wondering, the air temperature on this day was 3 degrees Celcius (37 Fahrenheit), and the water temperature was 6 degrees Celcius (43 Fahrenheit. Just a wee bit nippy.)

Alright freezing cold water! I'm ready for you! Let's roll!

Alright freezing cold water! I’m ready for you! Let’s roll!

Heading down to the wharft. All we needed were some men in a little car and we would have officially been a parade.

Heading down to the wharf. All we needed were some old men in a little car and we would have officially been a parade.

Changed and ready to take the plunge! Wheeee!!!

Changed and ready to take the plunge! Wheeee!!!

Wait a minute...I'm going to do WHAT??

Wait a minute…I’m going to do WHAT??

Climbing up to the edge. There were members of the police department there helping jumpers.

Climbing up to the edge. There were members of the police department there helping jumpers in and out of the water.

One last mug for the camera.

One last mug for the camera.

And the leap!! I swear....I looked MUCH more graceful in my own head.

And the leap!! I swear….I looked MUCH more graceful in my own head… like an eagle soaring out over the water…instead of like the wounded albatross that I appeared to be.

If you look closely you can see the shitty look on my face. Which is there because I literally could NOT catch my breath. You know how you've heard of things being so cold it takes your breath away? Who knew that was really a thing?

If you look closely you can see the crappy look on my face. Which is there because I literally could NOT catch my breath. You know how you’ve heard of things being so cold it takes your breath away? Who knew that was really a thing?

It was tougher climbing up than I thought. For some reason my arms and legs weren't really working all that well. ;-)

Thank goodness for those local police officers giving me a hand getting up out of the water. It was tougher climbing up than I thought. For some reason my arms and legs weren’t really working all that well. 😉

Who has two thumbs and is a total badass?? THIS gal!

Who has two thumbs and is a total badass?? THIS gal!

I did it! I did it! YAY!!

I did it! I did it! YAY!!

Here is what this experience has taught me (besides the fact that there’s no way that scrawny Jack Dawson could have survived more than 2 minutes in that icy water in Titanic, even if he was warmed by his lust for Rose): If there’s something that you’ve always wanted to do, then go for it. Don’t spend your life wishing for the courage to do something and then never do it.

Life is too damn short for regrets.

So, 2013…what else have you got for me?

6 Responses

  1. Bad assery at its finest!! I am so impressed!!

  2. Woot! So glad you did it! Sorry that I forgot to mention to wear old shoes. Congrats!

  3. That’s so friggin awesome! I love it!

  4. I’m cold just looking at you! way to go!

Leave a Reply

