The One Where I Brag About How Awesome Our Family Is

Last night was my daughter’s school Christmas concert.

Just like every year, there I was, sitting in the audience, with their dad sitting proudly on my left. We attend most school functions together. We go to parent-teacher together. We went to most of my daughters’ soccer games this summer. In fact, I’m sure that over the years, there were plenty of teachers (and parents) wondering what the deal was with my ex and I.

Despite our differences, my ex and I share pretty similar parenting philosophies. It makes me very happy to know that despite small details, for the most part, the transition between houses is pretty smooth, mostly because we do things very similarly. It creates a sense of stability for our daughters that I know not all children are fortunate enough to have.

I also love that despite our differences, we are often able to pull together to show the girls a “united front”. They know that for school concerts, soccer games, swimming lessons and the like, they will have both parents there whenever possible. Our divorce was upsetting for them enough as it was, I’m glad that we’re both doing our best to ensure that their present is as happy as possible.

This year the school concert was a bit different. Because as I sat there with my ex husband on my left, CBG sat on my right. There all three of us sat, smiling proudly (through our own discomfort) so the girls could see the three adults they love most in this world all in one place together. At the elementary school social event of the season. Waving at them up there on the stage, grinning from ear to ear.

Sure, my ex and I don’t always get along. We got divorced for some very good reasons, after all. But I have to say that I’m pretty proud of us for being able to pull together and put our girls first. And kudos to CBG for driving us all there together on a rainy night, one big happy blended extended family….talking and laughing and joking the whole way there.

Like it or not, we’re all in this together. So we might as well make the best of it while we’re here. I’m so happy that our girls will grow up with such happy childhood memories.

2 Responses

  1. Now that is the way to pull it together and support your girls! I love this and the evolution you’ve gone through in terms of your ex, blending your families and just how happy you are. Makes my heart happy 🙂

  2. WOOHOO! Love this so much!

    One question: Is your ex in a relationship?

Leave a Reply

