When Everyone’s An Asshole, Maybe It’s Not Them…

The following rant was inspired by a random Facebook status update that I happened upon this morning. Someone I know was, once again, complaining about something, and it just happened to rub me the wrong way. Mainly because this individual is one of those who is always complaining that they are hard done by. That they are somehow unfairly picked on by life and The Universe. That everyone treats them badly. You know the type. I’m sure there’s one or two of them in your own Facebook feed.

This kind of attitude pisses me off. I hate it when I see people complaining about their life circumstances and/or the people in it — repeatedly.  Many, many of our life circumstances come by our own choice. We choose the friends we have. We choose the romantic partner we have. We choose our job. We choose to do the self-destructive things that we do.

And I’m sure that some of you are asking, but what about the things we don’t choose? Because clearly, not everything in our lives is a choice.

To that my answer is: You can choose your attitude about it.

That’s right. For example, you can’t choose who your coworker is, but you can choose whether or not you allow their annoying habits and work ethic to bother you. You can consciously choose to ignore them when they complain about their work load. You can choose to show them kindness and compassion — if even only in your head — rather than letting their poor attitude take you down to their level.

I have no tolerance for a constant “poor me” attitude. Sure, we all have those days, and maybe even those weeks when we feel like life and the people around us are beating us down. We’re allowed to wallow in a little self-pity now and then; we’re human, after all. The problem is when it becomes a way of life. When you look at life and your explanation for why things aren’t going your way is because “He/she/they are an asshole”.

Here’s a little life tip from me to you: If everyone around you is an asshole, it’s probably not them.

#justsayin

So if you find yourself in that negative mindset, it’s time to take a good, long, hard, honest look in the mirror. Because the only thing that you can control in this life is you and your attitude. Instead of wasting it feeling sorry for yourself and blaming other people, how about you take responsibility for yourself, your actions, and your happiness? Life is so much better when you empower yourself in this way, believe me.

 

11 Responses

  1. amen!!! I am so with you on this. the poor me ‘tude gets me every single time.

  2. I love this post. I have a draft filled with similar thoughts on “slowing down and taking responsibility for ourselves.” I think the world would be a better place if EVERYONE came to read your post today and took it to heart. Thank you for sharing!

  3. THANKS what i need today! and to end the year on!

  4. God yes. This reminds me of my Passion vs. Mediocrity post recently. I so hear ya.

  5. We all want a happy life, and we all know that having a positive attitude feels better than a negative one. But for some reason, we are all attracted to and can be easily drawn to the negative side. How do we go about to establish a more positive attitude as a daily habit?

  6. Ah, but what you fail to take in to account is that there are actually decent people out there who are overwhelmed and shit on by the hoards of assholes roaming this fucking planet. You’re naive. You think that we will just forgive and forget what these dickheads do? HAhaha, no! Of course not. I hope that more people get what’s coming to them.

  7. What about victims of rape, violence, psychotic abuse, sociopaths who twist things and victims of high functioning disorders such asperger’s? People can be very cruel to the subtle social mistakes and hidden illnesses. Sometimes the more you try to fix things the bigger the assholes get. Sometimes they become more plentiful…because one asshole spreads rumours to average….naive people. And these naive people falsely attack victims, telling them to stiffen an upper lip. Just sayin’

  8. Ditto!!! I avoid these people at all costs. And I don’t care if it’s family or not..want to be the me me me type. I boot them off my facebook..lol

Leave a Reply

