Facing The Inevitable

Today is a day off for some of us lucky people here in Canada. I am one of those lucky individuals, and decided to seize the opportunity by going for a run. My girls are off with their dad for the morning, CBG headed off to work, and I headed out the door for a run. I’ve been getting out for short runs a fair bit on my mornings before work, but haven’t gone on a longer run since the Marathon last month.

So today was my day. Last night I meticulously laid out what I needed. And as CBG was heading off to work, I was heading out for my run.

I was about 5 or 6 km in when I began to really notice it. My right knee. Complaining. With every step it was telling me, “Ouch! I’m not liking this.”

So I did what every good runner does. I ignored it.

I noticed my right knee complaining during the last 10 or 15 km of the marathon last month. Nothing major, just a little ache there. And considering how much my sciatic left leg was complaining, a minor tinge in my right knee seemed nothing to worry about. After all, I’ve been running off and on for a good 15 years or so, and I’ve never had knee problems before. I have good knees, dammit!!!

As this morning’s run went on, my knee began complaining even more. What started out as a nagging complaint turned into a raised voice insisting that it was time to cut the run short.

And honestly, I really didn’t want to give in. When it comes down to a battle between me and physical pain, I like to be the victor. Because long distance running is much more about mental discipline than physical. If I gave up every time a run hurt or felt hard, then I wouldn’t be running all that much at all. Because there are plenty of days when my body complains at me.

A little more in the last five years, as much as it pains me to admit.

With a deep sign I turned back toward home, my knee hurting the entire way.

I think my knees may have finally gotten the memo that I’m knocking on 40’s door. Here’s hoping that there’s some major medical advancements in knee replacement in the coming years. Until then, I’m going to take it easy for the next little while and hope for the best. Because dudes….if I couldn’t run, then I would be a very sad almost 40 year old girl indeed.

2 Responses

  1. oh no!! maybe a knee brace will help? Mine get achy sometimes too, but give it a little TLC and ice and keep it elevated and hopefully it’ll be ok 🙂

  2. I just had my knees x-rayed this week and the doctor said they looked fine. Now I have to go get some blood drawn to see if I have the beginnings of some sort of arthritis. So yeah, *sigh*, I hear you.

    Praying for the best for you! And you too, Jobo!

Leave a Reply

