Lessons From The Universe: Not Everyone Will Like You

When I was growing up, my mom taught me to believe that I should want everyone to be my friend. The idea was basically that if I came across someone who didn’t like me, then it was my responsibility to change myself or make them see that I’m worthy of being liked.

This resulted in me being a people-pleaser who really had no idea of who I was until really just the last couple of years. I spent so much of my life dancing around so that people would like me. It resulted in me making decisions based on what other people would think. It meant that I either hid or changed myself to ensure that others would approve. It meant that I took it personally when I worked and worked and worked and people still didn’t like me.

The last few years has been a time of growth and change for me. My life now has very little in common with the life I was living five years ago. I’ve had to let go of many people in my life — people who at one time I changed myself for….people who caused me to shape and mold myself into a little box. Letting go of them, and moving on — alone — has been one of the best things I’ve ever done. It has cured me of a large part of my need to be liked and approved of by everyone. Because these people? They hate me. They hate me and they’re walking around thinking all kinds of untrue and unkind things about me. And I’ve just had to learn to let that go, because really, I have no other choice. It was one of those lessons from The Universe that I needed to learn, though I would have preferred at the time to learn it in a different way.

But yet…I still struggle with this. Intellectually I know that not everyone is going to like me. And honestly, I’m okay with it. The problem comes in when people feel the need to share that information with me. I’m reminded of a wonderful quote from Wayne Dyer: “What other people think of me is none of my business.” I just wish that the negative people would keep their opinions to themselves.

I also know that when we keep getting handed the same lesson from The Universe over and over again, it’s because we haven’t learned it the first time. So that’s where I am….still being handed this same lesson, over and over again. Because it’s still something that I need to learn.

So instead of fighting against this lesson, I’m going to offer up my thanks to The Universe for being offered a very valuable lesson.

Because I believe that once I have learned this, once and for all, I will not only be a better person, but I will be truly free.

One Response

Leave a Reply

