“Me Day” : Single Mom Style

There are lots of things about being a single mom that can be challenging. Getting personal time is definitely one of them. Because of the way my life is scheduled, I don’t often get a weekend day to myself. My weekends are generally either spent with my daughters or with CBG. This weekend, however, being Father’s Day, meant that I was able to get a rare Sunday all to myself as my girls went off with their dad for the day.

I knew that I wanted to spend this day nurturing myself and doing things that would make me happy.

I dropped the girls off with their dad at 8:45-ish or so, and headed out on an epic run. I’ve been toying with the idea of running a full marathon in the fall, rather than just a half, and so I’d decided that Sunday was going to be the day that I would try to gauge how much more training I have to do in order to get there. I dropped off the girls and headed out, armed with a fresh running playlist on my iPod and a brand new running outfit.

I ran 34 km (which is just over 21 miles, for those of you who need the conversion). I felt like a million bucks the entire way. I was strong and felt great the entire time. I tackled several big hills without stopping to walk even once. It was a great feeling — one of those awesome runs where I felt strong and happy the entire time….I felt like I could have kept running forever.

After my run I had a soaked myself in the tub for a good long while. Then I headed over to a nearby park with my book and some music and just sat in the grass and enjoyed the sunshine. I haven’t been making enough time to read lately and it feels good to be able to take some time for that.

I came home and tackled the mountain of dirty laundry and some other lagging housework. Nothing makes me crazier than living in disarray. The apartment has gone downhill a bit in the last week or so, and it felt great to get things tidied up and organized again. Having those things taken care of helps to calm my mind.

I settled in and watched “New Year’s Eve”, a movie that I’ve wanted to see for a while now but haven’t watched; I was waiting to see it with CBG. He told me a little while ago that he wasn’t really interested in seeing it, so I watched it by myself. As cheesy as it was, I have to admit that I enjoyed it. It would have been the kind of movie that he would have hated, however, so watching it by myself was a good call.

I cooked myself a healthy dinner and enjoyed every single morsel of it.

I ended my day with some yoga and hitting the hay early.

All in all, it was a pretty damn perfect day of “me”. I realized yesterday that opportunities like these are going to become even more rare once CBG is here with us. Just so we’re clear, I’m not complaining, just thinking about how I need to make an effort to appreciate days like yesterday when I do get to have them. Even with a blended family, they will still be a rare commodity. Life is changing, and as I see these changes unfolding, I realize that they will require effort to re-evaluate and rework life. A new normal will need to be found.

But for now, I get to enjoy life just as it is.

9 Responses

  1. I would love to hear what’s on your playlist!

    • Honestly, I’m embarassed to share what I listen to when I run. Lots of “girl power” music like Rihanna, Britney, Pink, stuff like that.

      • Don’t be embarrassed. I have a weakness for catchy pop songs myself and have been known to buy almost anything on iTunes. I believe I’ve even got a Miley Cyrus song on my playlist and I’m 41.

  2. damn girl, 21 miles just like that? Outta the blue, just because? Um hi, that pretty much defines badass to me. And here I am freaking out about running that distance in a couple of MONTHS after I work up to it. How do you just DO that?? Show me the way haha.

    PS I LOVE me time. I had a nice night all to myself the other night while Scott was out and it was great. I made my own “me” dinner, I cleaned the house (bc I love to clean), organized my entire closet, made banana “fro yo” and caught up on the DVR’d shows I”d been meaning to watch one day. It was lovely. :-)

    • Not quite out of the blue. I was planning a big run for yesterday ever since I knew I’d have the day to myself. I’ve done some longer runs in the past couple of months (though nothing nearly this long, of course). I just didn’t put any pressure on myself to go a certain distance or do it in a certain time…I just went out there with the intention of doing a “long” run. I was pleasantly surprised!

      And yes, me time is VERY important. I used to think that it was selfish to want that, but now I realize that it’s part of being a healthy, balanced person.

  3. You are frigin incredible, just saying. 21 miles and not even building up to that?! you are seriously a natural runner and just HAVE that ability, and I really admire that. I love your ‘me’ day yesterday, it sounds absolutely perfect!!! And you will still get those moments when CBG is around, he knows they are important to you as you know they are probably important to him too. Work it into your routine sometimes, and you will adjust in no time. I swear. :) XOXO

    • I have been working up to it, I’ve been doing longer runs for the last couple of months, 15km, 18km, I did a 23 km run last month. I just wanted to see how far I could go yesterday. I wasn’t worried about speed or anything, just wanted to push myself and see how much more work I’ll need to do for marathon training…I’m better off than I thought I was! ;-)

  4. I love “me” time and days like you describe are exactly that perfect! Well, except for the badassness of a 21 mile run. Damn. Maybe I’ll work my way up to some 50 mile cycling Saturdays again. :)

    Thanks for the inspiration. And remember these days are important for YOU!!

    • I definitely do need days like that, for sure. I need a certain amount of “me time” in my life in order to feel happy and balanced. I lost that when my girls were little, and I’m really just finding that I’m only now getting back to having them. I need to remember how good it feels to nourish myself like this, so I’ll make an effort to keep doing it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,182 other followers

