Happy Father’s Day

Happy Father’s Day, CBG.

I am so happy to see your developing relationship with my girls. I realize that it isn’t easy, making room in your heart from someone else’s children, even if you love that person as much as you love me. It’s been a long (and sometimes bumpy) road to get to where we are right now, where the three of you feel comfortable and easy with one another.

But now that you’re here, it feels better than I ever thought it would. Nothing makes me swoon more than see you snuggled up with my girls, or to hear them say “I love you”.

A parent’s love is unconditional and automatic. It just appears overnight — effortless. A step-parent’s love requires time, effort and patience.

But now that we’re getting there, I know without a doubt that it is worth every bit of that.

So thank you. Thank you for loving me enough to make the effort to love my girls. Thank you for your patience. Thank you for opening up your heart to my daughters, and treating them like you would treat your own children. Thank you for being a positive male role model in their lives.

Thank you for your love. All three of us are better people for it.

 

5 Responses

  1. I love this! Happy for you all, and….HAPPY FATHER”S DAY TO YOU, CBG!

  2. LOVE the picture and LOVE y’all! xxoo

  3. Wow…thank YOU for this amazingly kind post.

    And thank your two girls!! Without their patience with me (and allowing me to finally get my shiznit together), we would never would have gotten to this place together. They’ve shown more patience in me than I’ve had to show with them, and I’m a better person because of it.

    I couldn’t be any luckier or feel any more loved than I do today. I am so very thankful to have all of you in my life. I can’t wait for our love to grow even more as a family.

    xox

  4. […] heading out to see my dad, I happened to see the most amazing post over on Sunshine’s blog. Talk about putting a smile on my face!! Gosh how I love those […]

Leave a Reply

