Falling Into Place

Four years or so ago, my daughters and discovered a charming little street not far from where we currently live. A beautifully quiet, tree-lined street without a whole lot of traffic, tucked away where it doesn’t feel like you’re living in the city at all. It’s got a pretty little park on one side of it. All of the pretty little houses on the street have lovely backyard gardens. It’s in the same area where we currently live, an area of the city that I absolutely love.

For the past four years we would often walk down this street, gazing at the houses and talking about how much we would absolutely love to live there.

And now another dream is coming true.

Last year I applied at a housing co-op, thinking that I wanted to move sometime in 2012. They liked me and I actually could have become a member and moved into a place late last year, but the timing just wasn’t right. I was told that the co-op has units scattered throughout this part of town, including two on our very favourite street. I was told that I’d stay on their waiting list for when someone else came up.

A month or so ago when I was out on one of my epic morning runs, I ran past that street and thought about how I should send an email to the lady from the co-op I’d been corresponding with the year prior, just to tell her that I was still interested should anything come up.

She phoned me that very night. A unit was available. On our favourite street. An apartment that has everything that we wanted — 3 bedrooms, very reasonable rent, lots of windows, a beautiful backyard with plenty of space for both a garden and a clothesline. CBG and I went to look at it several weeks ago and loved it, but still had to go through the whole application process and wait for the Board to have their vote. I was feeling fairly confident that it would all go well, but there was always that bit of nervousness — what if something went wrong? What if they had better applicants?

Last night I got the phone call. We are in!!! As of August 1st, the place is ours.

At this point it all feels pretty surreal. All the pieces are falling into place. The life that I have been dreaming of for 3 1/2 years is finally falling into place.

We’re almost there. And damn…it feels good.

I think I need to go start packing.

16 Responses

  1. I love it! This was definitely meant to be.

  2. So happy for you. It’s so important to be in a place you love. Congratulations!

  3. LOVE!!! Everything is falling into place for you two. SOAK in these moments. You’ve waited a LONG time for this. Congrats!!

  4. I am SO happy for you guys! Things are just getting better and better for you two!! Your new place sounds absolutely awesome!!! XOXO

  5. And everything happens as it should…

    Watching this for you both makes me smile really big!

    LOVE!!!

  6. How amazing and awesome is that? I love stories like this. Congratulations!
    Vivi

  7. You guys deserve everything that is happening to you. I’m so very happy for ya’ll! xoxo

  8. […] to ‘fess up and admit that I’m not in a very good frame of mind right now. I know that I have a lot of things to be grateful for — both things that I have right now, and things that are coming in the very near […]

  9. […] found an awesome apartment (on my favourite street in the city!) and signed the lease just last […]

Leave a Reply

