Attempting Positivity in the Face of “One of Those” Weeks

It’s been “one of those weeks”, kids. One of those weeks when life is just weighing me down. Everything is getting to me. I’m antsy about getting CBG here, and feeling very impatient with the process. We’re in limbo right now, waiting to find out if we’ll be getting this new place that we looked at last weekend (won’t find out until the 13th). Work has been the biggest issue – shit’s going down and it’s reached the point where this week has been a huge challenge to go in there with a smile on my face.

I woke up early this morning thinking, “OMG…I’m so glad it’s Saturday.” I was just relaxing back into my pillow when a second thought hit me. “Wait a second….IS it Saturday? Or is it Friday?”

The soul-crushing realization that it was actually on Friday hit me like a ton of bricks. It honestly felt like some of the worst news I’ve received in a very long time. I need a weekend. I need some sunshine and to spend some time with my girls and to just shake of the work stink. The hope is that maybe on Monday things will look better.

In the meantime, I’m planning on doing everything that I can to make today just that much easier to make it through. I plan on spending a little extra time getting ready for work this morning. Nothing like looking just a tad bit nicer than usual to put an extra spring in one’s step. I plan to enjoy my walk to work, to stay present and appreciate every moment of it. I’m going to grab a good coffee on the way into the office. I’ll sit at my desk enjoying my big bowl of oatmeal and my glorious coffee once I get there. This week I made cupcakes to bring to a meeting we’re having today; I know that this will make some of my coworkers pretty happy. I will go out for a walk on my lunch break and enjoy being outside. I will focus on being happy and cheerful and helpful with those people who give me those things in return.

Today I will do my best to think about the things I have to be grateful for in my life, even beyond work. Dammit, I will sit at my desk and make an actual list if I have to! I know that I have plenty of wonderful things in the works right now. Sometimes it’s just tough remembering them when I allow myself to get weighed down with other garbage.

Today is definitely one of those days that will require an effort, but I with my plan and my arsenal of “weapons”, I will make it through. The day will be over before I know it.

Send some positive vibes my way people, I’m going to need all the help that I can get.

4 Responses

  1. Sending you sunshine, a speedy Friday, a huge ass bowl of oatmeal to face-plant into, and the happy thought that not only is the weekend thisclose, but that also means OUR weekend together is thisclose(ish) TOO! 🙂 XOXO, hang in there.

  2. I hope you face planted into your oatmeal this morning and smiled as you did so. It’s legit my FAVORITE part of the day lately. 😉

  3. I’ll skip the oatmeal and insert ice cream. Happy thoughts! 🙂

  4. […] my best to fight back against the negativity. I headed out into the world on Friday morning with a brave face and a vow to do whatever it took to improve the situation, and most importantly, my […]

Leave a Reply

