Morning Joy


I love those days when I step outside into the quiet of the early morning, before the city is awake. The birds are already singing. The air is fresh. I inhale deeply, all my senses joyfully overloaded as I drink in the morning with all of my senses. I see the eastern sky beginning to brighten, hear the birds waking up, smell the freshness of the morning, feel the breeze on my cheek and taste the promise of the day ahead.

Mornings are my time. I love the new beginning that each day provides. I love the whispered promise on morning’s lips: “Today will be a good day.” Each day starts that way…untouched, unblemished, full of promise, with a dash of hope. It’s really our own minds that make them otherwise: our emotional projections, the weight of expectation, the tarnish of bad attitudes.

We have the power to control the day. Maybe not always the events; after all, going to work each day is a necessity, not a choice. But I have the power to decide if I’m going to spend the day smiling for no reason and spreading just a little bit of joy throughout the world, or frowning and sucking the pleasure out of it for both myself and everyone else around me.

I love those early morning runs. It fills me with absolute joy to hit the streets, just me and my music. I love the sound of my breathing, the feel of the pavement beneath my feet, the hum of my muscles once I’m a few miles in. Running brings me complete and utter joy. It is my guarantee for a good day ahead. It makes me feel calm and centred. It gives me confidence in my abilities. And damn…it just feels good to sweat.

What’s your way of ensuring a good day for yourself? What brings you joy?

I am still determined to be cheerful and happy, in whatever situation I may be; for I have also learned from experience that the greater part of our happiness or misery depends upon our dispositions, and not upon our circumstances.”
– Martha Washington

3 Responses

  1. I LOVE this. It’s so true. I love the early morning summer runs, I miss them a lot during the winter. It is such a good time to mentally set the tone for the day, isn’t it?

  2. I love to find stillness, out on my back patio. Listening to the birds. Watching the dog run around. Seeing the dew on the grass. There is something magical about mornings, isn’t there?

  3. I could’ve written the EXACT same post. LOVE being out there before the world wakes up. It is so blissful, so centering, so perfect, so peaceful. The most amazing “me” time ever. I love it.

Leave a Reply

