A Groovy Kind of Love

When I tell people that CBG proposed to me while we were on vacation – in the Cayman Islands! Hello, romance! The first thing I’m always asked was did I know it was coming. The answer is no. While CBG and I have discussed marriage, and even though I recently declared on my blog that I planned on getting married someday, I honestly had no expectation that it was going to happen on this cruise.

* * * * *

I was looking forward to the first formal evening of the cruise. I had a super-hot dress and beyond FABULOUS pair of shoes that I couldn’t wait to show off. I love having an excuse to get dressed up; and I love even more that CBG enjoys dressing up in a suit, too. And I gotta say, damn. My man can rock the suit and suit and tie.

Is it just me, or is there an extra twinkle in his eye?

As per usual, I took a long time getting ready. We were planning on getting some formal photos taken and I wanted to make sure that everything was perfect.  And well, as any woman knows, sometimes that takes longer than anticipated. As time wore on, I could tell that CBG was getting a little bit antsy. He wanted to get down to the Captain’s Celebration before we had to head off to dinner.

Just before heading out of our room, CBG gave me the once-over (like he usually does) and told me how beautiful I looked.  As per usual. One of the many wonderful things I can say about my man is that he always makes me feel beautiful and sexy. Before heading out the door he looked at me longingly and said, “I’m going to be the luckiest man on this ship tonight.” Now, that might be something that would tip off some women that something “might be up”…but honestly, these are the kind of words that I’m used to hearing from him. He’s quite the charmer.

We went downstairs and mingled around a bit. I had a yummy glass of red wine, CBG got a beer, and we enjoyed our mingling and chatting with some of the people we had met the evening before. There were a group of elderly ladies that got dubbed “The Cougars” and boy did they love CBG! heh. We mingled and chatted. The plan was to go to dinner and then return to the photo area and get some photos done.

At some point CBG started getting a little antsy. He suggested that perhaps we take a look around at some of the photo backdrops to see which ones we liked for when the time came. We spied the staircase and he said, “That looks like a nice one.” I agreed. Then rather unexpectedly, he suggested that we get our photo done right away, since we were both still looking fresh and the line-ups weren’t too long.

Lucky for him, I agreed. 😉

There was a bit of a lineup but we did what we always do….chatted and laughed up a storm. Soon it was our turn. CBG stepped behind me to let me go before him. I stepped up onto the step and turned around to see him saying something quietly to the photographer, and wondered for a moment what the snap he was doing.

I didn’t have to wonder for long.

He turned around, approached me, and the next thing I knew, he was lowering himself down on one knee.

Men of the world: THIS is how it's done.

And then time stopped.

I was aware of nothing else in the room. Nothing and no one else existed besides the man in front of me, staring up into my eyes with the biggest smile in the world, trembling with nervousness and excitement and love. The world continued to turn, people all over the world were living their lives, people in that very room were milling about, watching the scene unfold, but I heard none of it, saw none of it, felt none of it. We were the only two people in the entire universe.

It was the perfect moment. I could see the joy and excitement dancing in his eyes. I could hear the love and sincerity in his voice. This is the way I’ve always wanted to be loved my entire life. Love without judgement, without expectation. Pure acceptance. Absolutely joyful and free. I looked into his eyes and knew that this is where I wanted to be, where I’ve always belonged. It took us 36 years to be ready to meet…a lifetime of experiences — of love and loss — to learn the lessons we needed to learn, to become the people we were meant to be, so that we could love each other in exactly the way we were meant to be loved.

Of course I said yes.

What I failed to notice was that not only did we have an audience, but we had a photographer snapping photos. And well, for two people who always take photos of everything, these are photos that I will always treasure…until I’m a little old toothless lady in a rocking chair with my little old toothless husband by my side.

The man who made me believe not only in love, but in myself. In my own love-ability, my own strength, my own worth. In my ability to find – and hang onto – happiness.  It’s always been there — he has always been there — I just needed to find him at exactly the right time.

And now that I have, I plan to never let him go.

30 Responses

  1. Wow! Double swoon!

  2. Such a sweet, perfect, Sunshine/CBG romantic moment. How surprised you must have been yet so over the moon full of love, hope and contentment. Your photos of the proposal are priceless…very few are lucky enough to have that special moment in their life captured to share with others. It allowed us to feel like we were there like the other passengers watching this happy moment for you both. Congratulations to you both!

    • Thanks so much! I feel so fortunate that we have those photos…especially since we love to take pics of pretty much every single thing we do. I will treasure them always. 🙂

  3. okay, now I am legit crying, not just teary, full-on crying. (read CBG’s first and that started the flow!) I love your perspective on this and completely agree…you’ve captured the essence of what a proposal is meant to look like, meant to feel and meant to mean. I am so SO incredibly happy for you two and damn, you two make a FINE couple. Gorgeous dress, shoes and suit and those are the most beautiful pictures I have ever seen. Captures the exact moments perfectly. Congratulations again, I am so happy for you!!

  4. This is awesome! I am so happy for you!! True love DOES exist.

    • Thanks! And you’re right that it does. I never dreamed in a million years that I would ever find someone who could love me the way I’ve always wanted to be loved…and yet, here he is. 🙂

  5. Oh friend, you are making me cry my eyes out over here. This is the most beautiful love story ever — and the best part? It’s not just a “story” — it’s real, it’s true, it’s amazing. I am thrilled for you both, you are such an incredible couple!!

    And PS. you are ROCKING that dress like nobody’s business. HOT STUFF!! 🙂

    • Y’know…it still feels like a happy, wonderful dream. 🙂 And thanks for the compliment re: the dress. I bought it last summer without knowing where I’d ever wear it, I’m glad I saved it for this occasion!

  6. I’m with Jobo… crying my eyes out too! Dammit!

    I love the two sides of this beautiful story. What an amazing job and forethought on his part. So happy it was captured in photos too!!!

    I love you guys. And hubba hubba gorgeous couple!!

  7. I also love being able to read both sides of this beautiful story. YOUR recap made me cry at work. I’m blubbering all over my desk. 🙂
    So happy for you both. This wonderful love story couldn’t have happened to two better people. Congrats again!
    ps… LOVE the shoes!! Fab!

  8. Becoming a part of this family, I’d say CBG is a brave man. Looking forward to welcoming him into the fold. Hell, what am I saying he’s already there.. 🙂 I’m SO happy for you both.

  9. So happy for the both of you! And to have such amazing photos of that moment are absolutely priceless! Congrats!

  10. […] it was so easy to turn off the overthinking parts of my brain and just enjoy being together and the excitement of our engagement. But now that I’m back to the “real world” and have time to be alone with my […]

  11. I just read over at CBG (yes, I am wayyyy behind in reading) and had to come here and tell you Congratulations as well. I am so happy for the both of you!

  12. […] man I met three and a half years ago was a great guy, fun to be around, but honestly? Probably not marriage material. And yet, over this time, he has actively chosen to grow and build a better life not only for […]

  13. Great story, great pics– congratulations!

  14. […] course, there’s nothing like getting engaged to the man of your dreams to vastly improve how you’re […]

  15. CONGRATULATIONS!! I’m late to the party, but had to say how very happy I am for you both!

  16. […] On a whim she reached out to him. The sparks flew immediately and there was an instant connection. In the years that followed, as they conquered obstacles and their love grew exponentially, she often thought of that dream. Those feelings of love and belonging aren’t just a dream anymore; they are her happy reality. A reality that gets to be hers forever. […]

  17. […] before we officially got engaged, CBG and I knew that we were going to get married. We hadn’t started planning our big day or […]

Leave a Reply

