Because Collapsing is not an Option

I’ve been pretty overwhelmed with life and all its details lately. There is simply too much to do and not enough time to do it in. Period. I figured out that I would need to either quit my full time job or stop sleeping in order to generate enough extra hours in a week to get everything done.

Um…yeah.

I know that there’s nothing special about me. There are plenty of single parents out there who can relate. We’ve all got huge to-do lists, I know. Hell, even married parents have long lists of things that they need to accomplish on a daily basis. Life is hectic for everyone. I’m not unique in that way.

As a single parent a big part of the problem is that I’ve got no one to lean on, who can pick up the slack when I’m unwilling and/or unable to do it myself.  And yes, I’ve got CBG there for moral support, but him being three hours away means that moral support is really all that he’s able to provide for me. And while it’s great to get some sympathetic words and a bit of a pep talk, sometimes it would be nice to maybe sit back and let someone else make dinner while I hide in a bubble bath with a book.

The chores pile up around the house and I wish I could just say “screw it”.

Work is nuts some days and I’d love to be able to just lock up and walk out.

My brain is on overload and most of the time I want nothing more than to just be able to turn it all off for a couple of days. Take off and hide from the world.

But there are chores to be done, work to stay caught up with, and life to go on with. Because running away, hiding from it all,  or even collapsing, just isn’t an option.

However, perhaps an early bedtime tonight is possible, if only I play my cards right. Gotta start somewhere, right?

12 Responses

  1. Feeling overwhelmed is overwhelming 😛
    It is also a reality check – that you’re not saying “no” often enough and as a result are overextending yourself.
    We tend to believe we must do everything asked of us and help others even if it spreads us even more thinly. The key is acknowledging when we’re overburdened and creating a list of to do items and then meticulously going through each item and honestly answering “is this something I have to do?” – those items should only fall into the category if the answer to “would I or someone I know die if I didn’t complete them?” is yes.
    We have to remember that we are human – we require rest, sleep and recharging. We can’t have so many things on our plates that we deprive ourselves of the body and mind nourishing benefits of rest.
    Saying no to or postponing tasks is never a failure – it is a positive step in ensuring everything else gets the best part of us like it deserves.

    • You’re absolutely right…I don’t say “no” often enough. The worst part is that the person I don’t say “no” to enough is myself…*I* am the one who piles on the chores and things that I think I “must” do. I must learn to relax and lower my standards a bit… 😉

  2. I agree with what WindsweptCoast said. Remember this: taking care of yourself means that you are also taking care of your children, because what would happen to them if you got completely burnt out, or sick from stress?

    And – chores suck. We can all agree with that. Do whatever you can to make chores fun with the kids. (My daughter and clean the bathrooms together. She sprays the counters/mirror/sink and I wipe. I takes about 10 times longer to do it together, but it’s fun and it doesn’t feel like a chore.) That way, you have more time for yourself after the kids go to sleep – maybe to have that bubble bath.

    Hang in there! And take care of yourself, girl. 🙂

    • Thanks! I do get my girls to help with chores most nights (we have a “10 minute tidy” in the evenings when they’re with me, although admittedly I’ve been a bit slack with enforcing it lately. But you’re right..I need to take better care of myself so I can take better care them. 🙂

  3. Aw friend, I’m so sorry you are feeling overwhelmed with life lately. I hope you got an early bedtime and had a chance to just lay there and breathe. Sometimes a few moments of that is all it takes to shake the anxiety loose (or looser, anyway).

  4. Sometimes just getting the day done and resetting the next day really helps when I feel like I am overwhelmed with a lot to do and not a lot of time. Hope today is a better day.

    • Thanks, Jobo. The worst thing for me is getting up in the morning and feeling like the hamster wheel is starting up all over again, which is what it’s been feeling like lately. I don’t like that feeling at all.

  5. Well, of course, you know I hear you.

    Do what you can and then take a moment to breathe. And give thanks for that upcoming vacation!

    xxoo

    • Thanks, T. I’ve been trying to think about relaxing in just a few short weeks, but honestly, that’s one of the things making me feel overwhelmed right now! I have a lot of things to do to get ready for it, I just hope that I’m able to get it all done…

  6. Oh yes–I’ve been there! I posted something about this once and my married friends were basically like, “HAHAHA do you really think my husband would make dinner while I took a bath?” Which I thought was kind of sad…I mean, it would be nice once in a while. I wouldn’t expect it every single night! I realized that I was seeing only the good side of having a partner around. Many people I know have a partner around–someone to argue with, someone to take off for the gym every night while you make dinner–no thank you. So now I try to appreciate that part of being alone.

Leave a Reply

