2012: Year of the Bad-Ass

This year, for the first time in at least 5, I decided to make New Year’s Resolutions. A whole damn list of ’em, in fact. I was going to write them out here as a public declaration of my intentions, but then decided against it. After all, it doesn’t *really* matter what those resolutions are, it just matters that I’ve made them. A whole list of them – did I mention that already?

I wrote out my list a couple of days before New Year’s. The list is vague enough to be doable (“Pursue something creative”) and gives me plenty of room for interpretation. It also contains a few concrete items as well (“Run another half marathon – or two!!”). I’ve basically covered all my bases – finances, health, parenting, personal, creative and spiritual. I’m feeling good about the list.

All of the items on my list are totally do-able, but I’ve decided that if I don’t get them done – screw it. I’m not going to base my self-worth on a list of items I wrote in a frenzy one night before New Year’s Eve. This is The Year of the Bad-Ass, and us Bad-Asses don’t allow ourselves to be fenced in by arbitrary rules. So sure, I want to give meditation a whirl, cook more real food, and read more in the coming year, but even if I don’t, I know that I’ll find something else to stretch myself to the limits of my own bad-assery.

Because that’s what Bad-Asses do.

Did anyone else out there make any New Year’s Resolutions? Feel up to sharing?

10 Responses

  1. Year of the Bad-Ass!! I love it!! I wanna run a half with youuuuuu! How awesome would that be? I keep saying that to people doing them this year, yet haven’t even really committed to one myself…guess I should do that (as a resolution?!) huh? 😉

  2. LOVE the year of the badass!! LOVE even more that this means no rules or boundaries – I’m digging that myself as my mantra for 2012. Rock on my fellow badass! 🙂

  3. I second the year of the Bad Ass. We are gonna ROCK it this year!

  4. You are a total badass girl! It’s the year of the dragon–the luckiest sign … and is there anything more badass than a dragon? 🙂

  5. I didn’t make any resolutions, no. But I would participate in year of the Bad-Ass! 🙂 You’re a marathon runner dude, I’d say you’re already there.

  6. What a great theme for 2012! I’m still working on my list for 2012 but I’ll post it when it’s ready. First up, run a half marathon…EEK!

  7. […] all, that’s what Badasses do, now isn’t it? Share this:StumbleUponEmailDiggRedditMoreTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first […]

  8. […] I have solid, concrete reason for why I’ve felt more like a festering sack of garbage than a bad ass since before […]

  9. […] Two mornings this week I went running. That’s right, kids. Me…running again. I can’t even begin to tell you the amount of joy this filled me with. In my misery these last few months, I’d truly forgotten how happy running makes me. Of course, it’s tough to remember that when all of one’s energy is spent on the most basic functions in life. But this week, I had two opportunities to be reminded. I’ve lost some fitness over the past few months, I have ground to regain, but it’s not nearly as bad as I thought it would be. The joy of an early morning run more than made up for any bad feelings about not being in marathon condition anymore.I’m back out there, finally feeling more like myself again, ready to rock out with my bad-ass self. […]

  10. […] I am. I am moving closer and closer to being the writer that I’ve always dreamed of being. I am kicking ass and taking names.   No, life isn’t perfect. It will never be. And honestly? I’m kind of glad that it […]

Leave a Reply

