Things That Make Me Happy – November 2011 Edition

Despite the challenges that life and The Universe have been throwing my way lately, I have to say that overall, life is pretty good. Sure, it’s far from perfect in a whole lot of areas, but I suspect that’s the case for a whole lot people. It seems like we humans always manage to hone in on the less than perfect aspects of our lives.

Or hell, maybe it’s just me.

Last night I got thinking about things that I’m particularly loving about life right now. Things like….

Oatmeal. That’s right kids. I’m finding myself in the middle of what can only be called an oatmeal obsession. Every morning it’s the same thing: steel cut oats, raisins, a sprinkle of walnuts, a dash of bran buds, loads of cinnamon and unsweetened almond milk. I eat my breakfast at my desk at work, and honestly spend my entire walk to work every single day thinking about how good that oatmeal is going to be when I get there. I’ve been the envy of many a coworker with my steaming, aromatic bowl of healthy oatmeal goodness, too. And no, I don’t share. Ever.

The weather. We have been having an absolutely spectacular November here in eastern Canada. The temperatures have been unseasonably mild, and we’ve been getting more than our usual share of sunshine. Walking to work and dreaming about oatmeal is made a whole lot easier if I’m not freezing my ass off on the way there. I love the smell of autumn and all of the beautiful yellow leaves – falling off the trees, resting on the (still!) green grass. It’s hard to believe that Christmas is right around the corner.

The colour red. I seem to go through cycles in terms of the colours I love. Orange is always my favourite, but right now I’m particularly loving the colour red as well. I’ve been adding it to my wardrobe – a sweater, toenail polish, a necklace pendant, a pashmina…. I wonder how long my fascination will last before I move on to another colour. Hopefully long before I have a closet full of nothing but red things.

Adele. O.M.G. I can NOT get enough of this chick lately. What a voice. I’m a little sad at how much she’s over-played these days. I really hope that people don’t get sick of her. She’s amazing. Amazing!!

These are just a few of the things that are bringing me a whole lot of joy lately. I’m realizing more and more how important it is to have those happy things in life to focus on – no matter how small they may be. Life is often measured in those “big moments” – both good and bad, but really, it’s all those little things in between that make life really count.

I would love to hear about the things that are making everyone else happy. What brings a smile to your face? What makes your hear soar with happiness?

4 Responses

  1. LOL! I literally posted this on twitter this AM as I was eating my oatmeal: “If I could marry my oatmeal, I would.” It is just so DAMN GOOD. I make mine with irish oatmeal, chopped apples (warmed) with cinnamon and a tablespoon of peanut butter and it is HEAVENLY. I look forward to it every time I work from home (once or twice a week) and on weekends. Otherwise, I’m stuck with a simpler version for work, not nearly as good but at least its still oatmeal. LOVE LOVE LOVE it.

  2. Seriously love my oatmeal too.

    My kids have been playing the heck out of Adele’s Set Fire to the Rain. What a great song. I hope she finds health with her voice soon.

    And red’s my favorite color. I tend to do more green in the winter months though.

    Hugs and love!

  3. How did I miss your oatmeal post?! Freaking love oatmeal. Have you ever made them as savory oats for lunch? It’s so good, but hard for me to tear myself away and have it as lunch and not breakfast! As for Adele…totally overplayed now, I used to like her but now cannot stand her, sadly. Love this happy post!

  4. I am addicted to my morning oatbran (still has all the health benefits of
    oatmeal but with even more protein and fibre!)
    I find oat bran MUCH tastier than oatmeal for me,

    I eat it it with vanilla unsweetened almond milk and sprinkle
    with slivered almond (that I toast in oven-make a big batch each month).

    So yummy-do post of you try oat bran 🙂

Leave a Reply

