Celebrating Lil’ Mo

Yesterday, at a school assembly, Lil’ Mo was the proud recipient of a leadership award. I was there to watch her receive her award, beaming with pride.

Mo is generally a bit of an introvert, so she does not often receive awards and accolades, despite being a well-behaved, caring, sensitive and smart kid. My older, much more extroverted daughter is usually the one who gets the most recognition from adults. It seems like the “good but quiet” ones are often overlooked, particularly in a school setting. Often she chooses to take a bit of a back seat to her sister, who is older, more experienced, and more of a people pleaser.

To see Mo be rewarded for being a leader in the classroom surprised me in a way; this is a side of her I haven’t really seen in action yet. Also, she rarely stops long enough to celebrate her accomplishments as much as I would like her to do – she tends to focus more on her perceived weaknesses or areas that require work. So to see her happy, excited face today was a proud and joyous moment for me.

I look forward to seeing Mo be a leader amongst her peers. This is a kid with an amazing inner determination to succeed. A kid with a deep, sensitive heart and a vast capacity for love. A kid with a good, sensible head on her shoulders. A kid who is respectful of others. A kid who is kind and forgiving. A kid with a great sense of humour and the ability to have fun.

All qualities that a good leader should have.

What me, biased?

Take a look at this photo and tell me what YOU think.

I’m so proud of you, my sweet Lil’ Mo. I hope that this helps you to let your beautiful inner light shine.

4 Responses

  1. Wow. Your daughter is amazing!! And she has her amazing mom to thank for raising her right, with awesome values and qualities that most kids her age (or any age for that matter) may never achieve. Proud mama alert!!!

  2. awwww!!! that is SO awesome! I would be just as proud. good for her!!

  3. It is so amazing to have that pride for your children, isn’t it? My son won an award as well yesterday and all I can say is WOW! Words can barely express the amount of emotion a parent feels when someone else acknowledges how great your kiddos are doing 🙂 Congrats to your little girl, and congrats to you, MOM! I always say that kids succeed when they see their parents succeed. Way to go!

  4. Oh my! Soooooo sweet! I love this post!

Leave a Reply

