An Open Letter to Fear

Dear Fear:

It seems you’ve been in overdrive lately, and I have a pretty good idea why. With the half marathon coming up in only three days, you’ve been sitting on my shoulder for weeks now, whispering all kinds of excuses, reasons why I shouldn’t even attempt to do this. In fact, you’ve almost convinced me to back out more than once. Just this morning, even.

I’ve been doing my best to ignore you, to disregard all those messages, from the subtle whisperings to the loud, riotous temper tantrums. I realized this morning that this tactic of mine simply isn’t working. So that’s why I’m taking a moment to address you directly.

You’re in overdrive right now because I’m way out of my comfort zone these days. My comfort zone usually consists of playing it safe, taking the easy road, not challenging myself. After all, if I don’t challenge myself, then I don’t have to face the possibility of either failure or success, now do I? And those times when I do push myself out of those boundaries, you cry, scream, tell lies, wail, gnash your teeth – do anything you can to knock me back into my “safe zone”. Sometimes  you succeed with this. I’ve missed out on a good many things in life because I’ve allowed you to take over the driver’s wheel. But you and I both know that when I’m able to put you in your proper place and push myself to new limits, good things happen. I have experienced many great and wonderful things in life when I’ve been able to keep you where you belong in my life.

We all need to push ourselves sometimes. And that’s the place that I’m in right now. I know you’re feeling uncomfortable and that’s okay. Nothing bad will happen here. Maybe I’ll finish this half marathon at my own personal best. Or maybe I’ll end up walking for most of it. Neither of these things would be a tragedy. I promise that once we’re done, we’ll feel like a million bucks. Because we will have the knowledge that we challenged ourselves and that we were able to rise to that challenge.

One last thing. You need to know that I am the one in control right now. I am being faced with the choice of either believing your lies, of giving in to you, or keep pushing onward despite what you want me to believe. My choice is to keep moving forward, wthether you like it or not. Buckle up. You’re in for a rocky few days. 

“You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face.” ~Eleanor Roosevelt

9 Responses

  1. I can’t wait to hear how the Marathon goes! I’m on Team Sunshine! YOU CAN DO IT!!

  2. ROCK ON, sista. THIS is what I’m talking about! Facing fear is HARD and scary and intimidating, but you said it yourself – good things happen when you face that thing called fear. This race has NOTHING on you; you’ve been preparing for months – and have even run 13 miles already as part of your training. This is just another long run for you, a long run with lots of people cheering you on from the sidelines and right here in bloggy world. You GOT this. Embrace the fear, turn it into a mad dose of energy and rock this thing like nobody’s business.

  3. oh man, I clearly did not read your post before writing mine today. CLEARLY we are in the same mental head space game today regarding fear, huh? Thank you for your comments on my post, you are so right. And you will so kick the crap out of fear during your half marathon, I just know it. We BOTH got this…we just have to face it.

  4. GO girl. I can’t wait to hear how you ROCKED it!

  5. Kick ass, girlfriend! You got this!

  6. I love this post but, I love Tammy’s comment even more!!!

    For a restrained Englishman it’s like having a guilty peek at Oprah!

  7. […] my butt out of bed and train on days when I really didn’t want to. My ability to overcome my fears. My ability to get out of my own way and accomplish something awesome…something that I really […]

  8. […] half marathon showed me that when I am able to overcome my fears and truly push myself, that I am capable of so much more than I ever thought. If I can do what I […]

  9. […] year I made the decision to run a half marathon. I struggled a lot with fear and self-doubt, but in the end, I ran it. And I rocked it. I finished faster than I’d hoped, I enjoyed every […]

Leave a Reply

