Goodbye My Baby

It’s hard to pinpoint that moment when our baby isn’t our baby anymore. A child’s life is full of so many transition times. First smile…first steps…first words…mastering a fork…conquering the slide at the playground…heading off to school.

Lil’ Mo has always been in a hurry to grow up. She did everything early, with a determination that came from deep within her. She started walking at the amazing age of 7 1/2 months – when most babies haven’t conquered crawling yet. Not Mo. She simply stood up in the middle of the floor, unaided, and took off. And just like that, my baby wasn’t a baby anymore.

And time has been in overdrive ever since.

While I certainly enjoy my girls at the ages they’re at, and I’m definitely happily done with the baby stage of life, my heart sometimes aches with missing those toothless grins, slobbery kisses and chubby legs. Days when all the comfort required was a soft blanket and my breast to nurse at. It all went by in the blink of an eye. Some days I look at the two girls standing in front of me, amazed at how they seem to be growing right before my eyes. Their physical needs are less now, but the emotional ones are far more complex than I ever anticipated. There is more grade-school girl drama than I ever thought possible for a six and eight year old. There are so many things for them to learn, and they look to me for guidance when some days it’s all I can do to guide myself through the murky waters of life, let alone attempt to give them tools to navigate the same.

It’s a big important job. Every day I worry that I’m getting it wrong somehow.

This past weekend Lil’ Mo hit another milestone. She lost another tooth. Top front. It was barely loose when we walked home on Friday but she worked at it all Friday evening with that same single-minded determination she used to learn to walk six years ago. There’s something about a kid with two “big teeth” in the front that signals to me a child who is well on her way to adulthood.

Mo will always be my baby….even though she’s not a baby anymore.


4 Responses

  1. Lovely!

    I drafted a post yesterday about my daughter having her first boyfriend. I’ve been scouring the Internet for chastity belts ever since!

    They sure grow up quickly.

  2. PS what do you think would be an appropriate age for the chastity belt to come off – I was thinking about 42!

  3. Ha! Spencer…. I agree!!

    And yes, my baby lost her first tooth a few weeks ago. I had the same reaction you have here. Happy I’m not dealing with diapers but sad to think that those perfect little baby teeth are falling out which means her face will look more mature… grown up. 😦

    Hang on to those snuggles while you can!!

  4. It’s crazy how they can be your baby one day, and then the next you look at them and realize their legs are a mile long. Or you ask them a question, not expecting an answer, and they give you a long and drawn-out and LOGICAL answer. Blows my mind.

Leave a Reply

