Friday Positivity: Slowing Down & Allowing Happiness

“Happiness is like a butterfly, which when pursued is just beyond your grasp, but which if you will sit down quietly may alight upon you.” ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

I was reminded of this quote yesterday, and it struck me how very true it is. I’m the kind of person who likes to take action, go out and grab life by the balls, and get things done. But this doesn’t always work. Sometimes I need to slow down and simply allow things to happen to me.

Like happiness.

And love.

Sometimes life is simply about being still and appreciating all the good things that you have. And I do have so many things to be grateful for. But some days it’s tough to see that when I’m focused on what to do next, where to turn my attention, what challenges I need to overcome. Today I’m not ‘overcoming’ anything. Today I will be quiet and grateful and smile my way through the day. Knowing all the things I have to be grateful for. Knowing how loved I am.

Knowing that life is good.

We all face challenges in life. Some bigger than others. The key to happiness isn’t living a problem-free life. It’s about being able to see the positive things amidst all of the other stuff. Life and happiness isn’t black or white. We still always have lots of good even when it seems like life is only dishing out the bad stuff. It’s about not dwelling on the bad stuff. It’s about having faith that everything will work out in the end. And it’s about being grateful for the life lessons that The Universe gives to us in these challenging times. If we really want, there is something to be grateful for in every single life event.

Today I choose to bask in the goodness, slow down, and allow happiness to sit on my shoulder like an old friend. I will count my many blessings and appreciate all that I have to be grateful for.

What are you grateful for today?

5 Responses

  1. yes, yes, YES. I needed to read this yesterday in particular when I was having that funk/meh feeling all day. And not even for very good reasons. Not that the reasons even matter…

    The point is, life is meant to be lived and enjoyed and appreciated. The whole “choose happiness” mantra makes such sense even though it tends to make zero sense when I’m in a funk. 😉

    So anyway – what am I grateful for today? I’m grateful that it’s a sunshine-y day and that I have the ability to work from home a couple of days a week where I can get sh*t done from the sanctity of my own home, with the windows open and the sun blazing in (the gray cube walls can get very, very depressing…especially after a long-ass commute like I have!).

    So yeah, I’m a happy camper today at the “home office”

  2. Great post!
    I am generally happy most days, but today I am especially happy for the time I got to spend with my relatives from far away, for showing them around my unconventional home, the beach and wood-oven fired pizza. Also, for my husband for his history lesson on acadian settlements, and his constant curiousity about life! Grateful and happy for breeze blowing through my home! And of course, the chalkboard drawing that one of the kids drew, of smiling bearded faces…

  3. I’ve always loved that quote for the truth of it. Thanks for the reminder. Think I’m going to relax tonight and go to bed early…

    Enjoy your weekend!

  4. the key to happiness isn’t a problem-free life. <–YES. Couldn't be more true. I think once we realize that, it makes it easier to be happy despite that. Great post! (and you know what I am grateful for today!!) 🙂

  5. […] means something different to everyone!) is akin to living your best life, as much as possible. As Sunshine put it in a recent post, “The key to happiness isn’t living a problem-free life. It’s […]

Leave a Reply

