Time Out

We’ve had a gorgeous week here, weather-wise. We have seen sun every single day. It’s been warm, but not too warm. Basically, it’s been practically perfect.

I figured out a long time ago that I do a lot better when I get lots of sunshine. I’ve never been diagnosed with Seasonal Affective Disorder, but I do know that in the wintertime, the lack of sun really gets me down. Big time. So when it shines in the summertime, I try to take advantage of it as much as I can…almost like I’m hoping that I can store it up for winter.

Usually my lunch breaks at work involve me running errands. I either hit the grocery store, take off for the drug store or even just sit at my desk, catch up on personal emails or pay bills or surf the ‘net. And, of  course, there are also the days when I work straight through my lunch, barely stopping to take a break at all.

Yesterday I made the conscious decision to take a time out from the day. I grabbed my book, my iPod, and headed out into the sunshine.

 I started reading “The Help” while on vacation with CBG and the kids. And honestly? I had a difficult time putting it down. I’m really looking forward to seeing the movie, though I’ll likely be going by myself, since CBG isn’t too keen on watching it. I just finished it last night, and I’ll be interested to see how it translates on screen. Hopefully it’s just as good in film form…because the book was, in my opinion, outstanding.

The thing about where I work is that there aren’t a lot of places to go and sit to enjoy the sunshine. There’s a beautiful cemetery a short walk away, but I didn’t want to lose any reading time during the walk there and the walk back.

So I did what any “crunchy granola” girl would do…I found the nearest patch of grass, and plopped myself down. I’m sure I got plenty of weird looks, sitting there in the grass in my office attire, but I didn’t care. I was determined to take a time out from my day, soak up the sun, listen to some “chick music” and enjoy my book.

And that’s just what I did. Such a small thing, but honestly, I returned to work for the afternoon with a bit of an extra smile and a spring in my step. Sitting there for that hour, living in the moment, enjoying my surroundings the best I could, was exactly what I needed. I think I’ll be doing this  more often…rather than claiming that I “don’t have time” to take a small break during the day.

My soul is worth this small gesture.

3 Responses

  1. Aw! That is an awesome way to get out there and enjoy the day for a bit, even when you are stuck at a desk the rest of it. Sort of like my walk yesterday. Just made me feel GOOD. I am with you on the sun, absolutely fuels my soul.

  2. Your soul is well worth that gesture.

    I’ve rediscovered literature lately and, I think, it saved me from dipping into a rut.

  3. Nice! That sounds like a very relaxing thing to do.

Leave a Reply

