Long Live The King

I don’t normally like to post twice in one day, but I just happened to notice online this morning that today is the 34th anniversary of Elvis Presley’s death. I was three years old when he died.

Elvis was my very first favourite singer as a kid. I remember getting my first walkman for a birthday present when I was nine from my parents. My older sister gave me a cassette of Elvis’ greatest hits. I burned through many a set of AA batteries listening to it over and over again.

I still feel a connection to him, even now. Another tragic figure in history…a man who had so much, and who basically threw it all away.

So sad…

2 Responses

  1. Is it weird that I never cared much for Elvis? Maybe cuz he was dead already when I was born?!

  2. Me too, my friend. And I have a relative that was in Elvis’ earliest band so he’s HUGE in my family. He was probably my first crush too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

